Private imports (1 Viewer)

OP
OP
C

champagnegypsy

Free Member
Apr 21, 2015
Funster No
Struggling to get comprehensive insurance from Germany to UK,believe you may be able to advise.
Cheers.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

GWAYGWAY

Free Member
Sep 6, 2014
Dover
Funster No
MH
Hymer ML I 580
Exp
4 years
Where does the German third party insurance end, the Belgian border , the French border or the moment you touch the UK soil???
Surely any decent UK company that wants your business should really cover you on the VIN number, but I notice some do not even insure a van that WAS NOT IMPORTED by a recognised??? dealer in the UK . Grey imports? do they really exist in the single market now.
Does it really matter if you are ripped off in the UK by a dealer in ££££s or the same price in Euros.

Weinsbergaman

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Wirral, North West England
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Struggling to get comprehensive insurance from Germany to UK,believe you may be able to advise.
Cheers.

You cannot get UK comprehensive insurance abroad while importing. It only kicks in when you reach the port (eg Calais). You automatically get third party insurance with the export plates while driving abroad so be very, very careful ;)

Thanks Antony

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
I'm in the process of buying a new van from Germany and we're actually buying RHD so if I was to get all my paperwork and register and pay vat on the van before collecting it could I then insure it and drive back will fully comp.
the van will be full UK spec so nothing needing done for import

Weinsbergaman

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm in the process of buying a new van from Germany and we're actually buying RHD so if I was to get all my paperwork and register and pay vat on the van before collecting it could I then insure it and drive back will fully comp.