Towing A Micro Car ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Recently bought our motor home. Its not a huge one as I didn't want a great big thing to drive around in and wanted one that I can get into reasonable parking spaces.

But my thoughts are turning towards towing a very small and by that I mean as small a car as is practical being the MH on an A frame .

A motorbike would have been ace but my wife who is disabled can no longer ride on the back of even a big luxury scooter.

I fancied one of those mad but attractive Renault Twizzys but it has restricted range and I would have to enter into a contract for the hire of a battery. Not on..

Next up is a Smart for 2 . I have absolutely no idea about these wee cars . The other wee car that looks good is the Renault Twingo.

This is a car for getting around when away. I'm not looking for anything super well equipped or fancy just a really cheap to run and insure car as we have 4 vehicles here already so a fifth is stretching it a bit.

So at the moment a Smart for two is on pole position but suggestions on alternatives would really help !

So how many of you tow these wee car ? Pros and cons ?

What is roughly the cost of fitting a small car with the A bar kit ? I realise a tow bar will need to be fitted but that is no problem.

Thanks.

Andy

Free Member
May 25, 2014
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
I tow a Daewoo matiz, small enough to get into most parking spaces, AND light enough not to be too noticeable when hooked up being Hymer.
was told by A frame supplier and fitter not to go for either Ford KA or the chev version of the matiz, as there wasn't enough metal/strength to accept towing fittings; My A frame is by Unibrake.

FJmike

Free Member
Jul 17, 2014
Swindon
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
over ten years