Just Sayin' Hi.... Oh And Asking For Advice Too! (1 Viewer)

Mark Lee

Free Member
Jul 6, 2015
Wirral
Funster No
MH
Don't own yet...
Exp
Hey folks!

The time has come for me to have the freedom I have desired for years! To have a mini home from home.

I've camped for years, but now I've had enough of setting up tents, dealing with wet muddy tents, finding a spot, etc... I just want to jump in my van and drive wherever, sleep wherever, do whatever I want! :)

I'd love to self build one. I'm an engineer and would be prouder if I put the work in myself. Plus, it's a long term project over the next year or so.

My question is what to use for my base. I'd love a VW 60's split screen camper, they look lovely! But, not practical for what I need. For me a T4 or T5 LWB would do, minus the bathroom facilities. But I think the missus would like to join me at times so I'd like to incorporate a toilet and shower. So, I've thought of mainly Transit Semi Hight LWB or Mercedes Sprinter. Something that still looks a little OKish as far as vans go.

Obviously the van has to be mechanically sound and if there are any big issues that I need to be aware of so I'm not stuffed a couple of years down the line.

Any suggestions from the other Self-builders?

Thanks,

Mark

mjltigger

Free Member
Nov 12, 2014
Trowbridge
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Dakota Max
Exp
Not a self builder yet because of time but I've bought 2 other people builds.. the first was a transit hi top lwb which was awesome while we had it but as we became more adventurous with our trips the lack of space got to us.. it is ok in the day and it is ok at night but the transition was awful. That first pee in the morning was a nightmare of contortions and having a coffee in bed isn't even slightly feasible.. with the bed made there just isn't room to move and all the cupboards are blocked.