Putting A Connection In A Hook Up Cable ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
The hook up cable we got with our MH is very long ! We are beginners and on the two sites we have stayed at the cable was nuisance getting tangled up ! We realise of course at times the length of the cable will be needed.
So I am considering cutting the cable in half and putting pair of blue plugs so they can be connected up when the length is needed.

The plugs
Broken Link Removed

Are there any pitfalls in doing this ? For instance would a joint using blue plugs be susceptible to rain ?
Just thought it worth asking before doing it.

Thanks !

Ivory55

Free Member
May 23, 2012
North West Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2012
Plus a short lead plus the one you have may come in handy in France where hook ups can be a greater distance apart then a cc club site.

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
So long as you put a waterproof bag securely round a join it will be okay, or you can actually buy coupling covers anyway.

We cut ours into 2 lengths, one is 2/3rds the other 1/3rd.

OP
OP
Charlie

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
why not just get another short hookup lead.

That would mean taking both the very long lead we have and a short one as well everywhere we go if we don't know the set up at the site. I store the lead in a space down the back of the toilet and getting another lead in is not possible. Less kit and clutter and all that ...

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 12, 2013
The City of Henlow
Funster No
MH
Adria Supreme
Exp
Since 1980