Free Member
May 24, 2013
gillingham kent
Funster No
MH
autotrail comanche
Exp
im a newbie
the engine management light has come on, code reader says dpf filter, is there a quick fix like dpf cleaner, its only done 9000 miles and getting quotes of £800

Jul 29, 2007
Ipswich
Funster No
MH
RV and PVC
Exp
30 years
The usual reason is short runs, you could try a good run out at reasonable speed, 10 miles at 60mph, this may sort it. Brother says they get many problems with DPF's, mainly on vehicles that are just used around town.

Ian

DP+JAY

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 17, 2010
Dalbeattie
Funster No
MH
Laika 5009
Exp
since 2007, 25 years tuggin before that.
There are different fixes for different makes, for example some have fluid added either automatically or manually, whilst some recomend driving/running at a constant engine speed of 2500rpm for 15/20 minutes. Is there nothing in the handbook?
Might be able to help more if we know which engine it is.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dec 27, 2014
Funster No
May need a re-gen on proper diagnosis computer.
Did a minded earlier this week.
Also check the vent pipes to the sensor are intact.

musson

Free Member
Dec 25, 2013
grantham
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
since Jan 2014
Hi have you checked on the internet I think there is a company that can regen them I did see a van on MI took notice of it because we use DPF filters on our fork lifts.

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs
Re-generation in a workshop generally consists of hooking the vehicle up to computer which then controls the engine. Once up to temperature it will raise the revs to around 4500 and hold it there for up to ten minutes, quite scary to be around. The idea is it will get the exhaust temperature up and burn off the soot in the DPF. I would try a ten mile run at 60MPH but hold it one gear lower than top (so 5th in a six speed box) to get the revs higher and generate more heat.

D.

DBK