Free Member
Feb 5, 2015
Hornsea
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
Since 2014
House sold and so it begins,waited years for this...The ferry?dog owners out there ,does your pooch travel better in your van or has anyone tried the onboard kennels?

YukonJac

Free Member
May 1, 2015
Normandy, France
Funster No
MH
Hymer B584
Exp
30yrs +
This depends on many things, such as:

Which crossing are you using? Many longer routes have dog-friendly cabins now, such as Brittany ferries Economie service. Some crossings REQUIRE you to leave them in onboard kennels, which I think is stressful for all but the most laid-back, confident dogs.
Is your dog used to, and happy, to spend time alone in your van?

I've been crossing for over twenty years with dogs. Despite my dog (and past dog) being well-trained and trusting, I prefer to use the shortest crossings available and leave them in the van, music on, plenty of water and importantly, not too much fuss when I leave (I'm a dog training instructor - the bigger a deal you make, the guiltier you act for leaving them, the more anxious they will become).

I have left my present dog up to five hours in the van on crossings (Marseille - Corsica). To get to the continent, I use the simple Dover-Calais crossing - my dog is so familiar with it, she often stays sleepily in her bed while I lock up and head for the stairs. Some people prefer the tunnel as they can stay with their dogs - fine, but better to train your dog to cope with being alone so you are not a slave to that.
I have once used onboard kennels as there was no other option - Patras - Venice (24 hours) but the entire top deck was available for walking them and I just found a corner of the deck and 'camped-out' with her most of the time. This winter I drive to Sicily, taking the ferry back to Genoa which offers a special deal - dog cabins available.

Jac

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DP+JAY

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 17, 2010
Dalbeattie
Funster No
MH
Laika 5009
Exp