Scams When Purchasing A Motorhome (1 Viewer)

Sharon Ebbs

Free Member
May 27, 2015
Thanet
Funster No
MH
hymer S700
Exp
im a newbie
we have just been scamed by the seller of the hymer we brought from him. We brought it using google wallet from a guy called Ian Oliver or that what he says he's name is! he claims to live in Scotland.
but it turns out he made the whole thing up including a fake web site. we got sucked in and have learnt the hard way and probably won't get our money back...........so back to the saving!!
just thought i would let every one know about this so you don't get caught out.

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
That's so awful, I feel for you. There are some very unpleasant people out there.
I hope it doesn't put you off getting a motorhome in the future and meanwhile keep looking in here on FUN and getting to know lots of new friends.
While you're saving, maybe hire a mh from time to time - you'll learn lots and can even get to some FUN rallies if that's your thing?
Things will get better!

mjltigger

Free Member
Nov 12, 2014
Trowbridge
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Dakota Max
Exp
I very nearly got suckered by a sob story recently by luckily I already have a van so was a member here and remembered reading skmethi g about it. It would be great if you could share details of the scam so that other members can be simarly warned.. Have you approached Google wallet to try and get a refund? If your wallet was connected to a credit card you may also get some help from them.. good luck and hope you get your cash back.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Gollom

Free Member
Apr 6, 2014
Preston, Lancs
Funster No
MH
Hymer B534 (1994) - Hetty
Exp
Since 2014
we have just been scamed by the seller of the hymer we brought from him. We brought it using google wallet from a guy called Ian Oliver or that what he says he's name is! he claims to live in Scotland.