Free Member
Mar 30, 2010
Darlington
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
10 years this time
We have a problem with our Oyster 85cm dish.
We have got a message on our Oyster box saying "LNB Failure"
Is it a job I could do myself? I have no experience of working on dishes or
would it be better to go to a repairer.
Is it possible to fit a higher sensitivity LNB ours is 0.3db. If so where is the best place to get a replacement?
Is it possible to fit an auto skew unit? ours is the old manual one.

I met seanno in Spain and he recommended an internet addition, but I cannot locate the necessary arm on the website he sent me to. I tried PMing him but kept getting an error message.

Jun 6, 2012
Leeds
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2012
Very easy to change the LNB, it's simply unscrewing 2 screws which hold the LNB to the arm and unscrewing the coax cable. Just make sure you place the new LNB at the same angle as your old one (cable should be approx at 35 minutes on a clock face as you look at your dish)

I changed mine for a twin LNB set up and had to modify all the cable etc and looked into an auto skew but was advised that it could not be done as the trickery is all done by the main control box.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
I would check the LNB connection first... may just be loose or even damp at the plug

otherwise as above.. easy enough to change

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
Guys, if you are in this neck of the woods and would like to call in I have a spare ( or two ! ) and can sort out any other issue you might have if it aint the lnb

All it would cost is about a tenner ( the price of the LNB ) no matter what..

OP
OP
John & Joan

John & Joan

Free Member
Mar 30, 2010
Darlington
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
10 years this time