Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Majestic 155
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi folks, thinking about when we go to europe, if we take two 6 kg bottles of gas and mainly have EHU and only use gas for cooking how long would they last, approximately of course, thanks Kevin

Dave K

Free Member
Mar 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Pilote P740C
Exp
Since 2013
Hi Kevin
I can't give you exact figures but going from experience we used to do a lot of cooking in our caravan we spent about 6-7 weeks away per year and didn't even use one bottle, since getting the MH we swapped over to lightweight propane gas canisters and these have a gauge on them, sorry I can't help further
Dave

Upvote 0

wingman

Free Member
Feb 10, 2013
Romford, Essex
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt Lo-Profile
Exp
Since 2012
It's a bit like a piece of string question Kevin. However, I've got two 6kg cylinders and toured France, Switzerland and Italy last year for 3 weeks and only used one cylinder and we didn't scrimp. Mind you, that was staying on sites and EHU mostly.

It depends on whether you bash the gas for the fridge and cooking etc when off grid.

You are right to raise this though because of the unavailability of UK type 6kg gas cyl's over there.

Others will follow my post and give other helpful estimates.
James

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Ivory55

Free Member
May 23, 2012
North West Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2012
We brought an adaptor from bull finch gas that fits intermarch bottles in case we ran out of gas, but 5 weeks last October in France 2 x 6 kg bottles lasted us

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Kevingrc

Kevingrc

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Majestic 155
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks everyone, most helpful, was considering gasit bottles but I don't think we'll be lucky enough to be away long enough to need them,

Upvote 0

MattR

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2013
Beds
Funster No
MH
Panel van
Exp
Years