LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
Having been ardent caravanners since 1983 and with our old car/caravan outfit we were well inside the legal limit, when I reached 70 I did not bother to undergo medicals etc. to retain my old C1 qualification on my licence.
Last year after 32 years of caravanning we "went over to the dark side" and bought a second hand Rapido motorhome not even thinking about weight/licence restrictions - since then we have toured France, Portugal and Spain and really enjoyed it.
As we are both now 72 and there are no pockets in shrouds we decided now is the time to "splash out" on a new motorhome and to my surprise I found out through a friendly dealer that for the past 9 months I have been driving my current 'van illegally as it is plated at 3800Kg!! which came as a bit of a shock.
The dealer we bought the Rapido from, E S Hartley near Kendal, never mentioned this ( I'm told that it should have been mentioned at time of sale but that's history now) Anyway problem now solved as our new 'van, a Knaus, is plated at 3500 Kg.
A friend tells me that it is quite common for some motorhomers to ignore this restriction and to carry on driving 'vans over 3500Kg on a B licence but I do not know whether this is true or not also is this well policed both here and abroad? or is a "blind eye" sometimes turned?
What about penalties if caught? and what if any is the effect on insurance in case of an accident?

I would be very interested to know people thoughts on the above

PS - I don't need you to remind me that I was a plonker when I bought the Rapido without checking the weight/licence restrictions - I already know that!!

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
I would guess in the event of an accident the insurance would not pay out if you are not entitled to drive it.

DBK