Is 92 horse power enough for Autosleeper Symbol? (1 Viewer)

Silver Lady Old

Free Member
Dec 7, 2014
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
VW T5
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm contemplating buying an Autosleeper Symbol, 2001 reg, Peugeot Boxer 1905cc. It has got 92hp - any advice on whether this would cope with long hills or will I get frustrated with lack of power? A friend said engine could be chipped..... Any advice or thoughts??

Nov 3, 2013
Portugal
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato Auto Wildax
Exp
C/van since '73 .M/h.2009
Hi.
It is all down to you,in my opinion the engine may be a bit long in the tooth for "Chipping/boosting",can you sit and watch the lorries you overtook come by you,with all the hassle of another overtake manouver taking best part of half a mile on the next bank ?.
Some people can,but on a long haul you may find it irksome,it is all about todays technology,motors cruising up and down dale all day with modern engines,some only 1997 cc.
You may,if you buy it,come to name it,"Dragon Fly",why ?,Because you will Drag up hills and Fly down the other side. There is no substitute for cc's,if it is really nice and the price is right,maybe a bigger engine transplant could be an option. Best of luck with your decision,whatever it may be,hope you come out happy.
Tea Bag

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I suggest doing a Google search for any reviews of the model. But if first gear is low enough it will be fine.
Overtake? I've got 180 hp in our 'van but overtaking anything is an event worthy of a postcard to relatives.

Did overtake a tractor last Wednesday though!

OK, I'll ' fess up, it was downhill.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs