Pennine Way advice please... (1 Viewer)

R

rookie

Deleted User
Hello! I’m completely new to motorhomes and I’m hoping you kind people could give me some advice.

I’m being made redundant soon :cry: and my wife is on maternity leave with our month-old daughter. Not the best situation but... a golden opportunity for me to achieve my lifelong ambition of walking the Pennine Way! :thumb: My wife, while not exactly enthusiastic, is hoping I’ll be supportive of her own ambitions so at least she’s playing along!

With my wife providing support in a motorhome we’d be able to carry all the essentials as we move from place to place and can be flexible about where we spend the night. Plus I wouldn’t be stuck to a rigid schedule and would only carry a light daysack. Sounds perfect!

I’ve looked into hiring but it seems eyewateringly expensive for the three weeks we’d need in May. Another possibility would be to buy an old second-hand motorhome and sell it afterwards but our budget would be limited to around £5k-£7k.

I’m open to any suggestions but I’m particularly interested in which motorhomes you could recommend that would fit our requirements, reputable hire companies in the Manchester or West Yorkshire areas, or any thoughts on my idea about buying a van and selling it on.

We're after something that is relatively easy to manoeuvre on country lanes, while being comfortable, as wife and baby will be spending a lot of time there. At least three forward facing seats with three-point harnesses. Enough storage for baby things and pram, together with all our clothes and my walking gear. That's about it...

Cheers :thumb:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
I’m open to any suggestions

How about one you won't like ?

You are about to lose your job in a bankrupt country. Should you spend 3 weeks and a load of money indulging yourself ?