Mar 28, 2015
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
Bailey autograph
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,
This is our first motorhome and are a bit nevous about traveling to Europe is it as bad as you read?
We are sorting an alarm out and was wondering where the best place is to fit a safe, has anyone any ideas?

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
We go to Europe yet we have no alarm, but your insurance company may insist, some do but if you feel safer having an alarm then of course go ahead. When it goes off by accident on the ferry or when you aren't there on a campsite or aire don't blame me! :)

As to Europe being dangerous I really wouldn't agree. Some places like Germany are a lot safer than many parts of the UK. There have been scare stories about motorway hijackings but I am not sure this is a problem any more and if someone does try to flag you down, pointing to a possible fault on your vehicle, keeping going until you find somewhere where there are lots of people before stopping.

You are much more likely to be robbed while walking around on foot, touristy places attract pickpockets and some cities like Lisbon have a bad reputation, but I have seen people lose their wallets in Heathrow, so it can happen anywhere.

Impossible to say about a safe position as it depends very much on what is available on your MH. On ours it lives under one of the swivelling seats behind a drop down cover. Inside a wardrobe might be an alternative. I wouldn't put one in say a garage as people can see you accessing it from outside.

You are not a million miles from Dave Newell and I am sure he could advise on the best place for your vehicle if you asked him.

And Welcome! A safe first post, not at all alarming. :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2012
Devon/Cornwall
Funster No
MH
'Obby
Exp
Since 1968'ish