Another 'Tyre' rant.... (1 Viewer)

C

Chockswahay

Deleted User
I spoke to a tyre dealer yesterday who has been in the trade '40 years man and boy' blah blah blah......

Well he surprised me! I mentioned that the current received wisdom is that the tyres with the 'best' grip must always be put on the rear (every manufacturer says this)...... his answer was "what do they know, I'm an expert" ....... :eek: His view was to put the old nearly worn out tyres on the back 'coz they only have to hold the handbrake on' :)eek:)

This does not fill me with confidence at all. He also suggested that Michelin Camping tyres are rubbish and will wear out very quickly if used in the summer :eek:

I really got the impression that he is stuck in the past and actually knows very little about modern tyres and current thinking regarding their use.

:mad:

Forestboy

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 31, 2007
Forest of Dean
Funster No
MH
A Class Hymer B694 tag
Exp
Get a new tyre guy.
Not sure where you are but if in our area I can put you in touch with my tyre guys they are superb.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Mar 26, 2009
Yr Wyddgrug
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL
Exp
Since 2009
Quick story on tyres for my car (two days ago). Found what I wanted on the internet. No, not crossply remoulds:rolleyes:. Chose a fitting station from their website. When I got there I asked what they would charge for the same tyres. The response, 'I couldn't even match what the online company were offering them for let alone charge less'. The suppliers were ASDA & the fitters Halfords.

Oct 7, 2013
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Swift Escape Compact
Exp
Since 1988
I spoke to a tyre dealer yesterday who has been in the trade '40 years man and boy' blah blah blah......