Power steering Belt Adjustment (1 Viewer)

Southleigh

Free Member
Jan 26, 2015
Bradford on Avon
Funster No
MH
Peurgeot Boxer Symphony
Exp
I'm a newbie
My Peugeot Boxer Symphony has developed screeching noises when I turn the steering wheel. I've checked underneath and the power steering drive belt is quite slack. How do I tighten it up?

Nov 6, 2008
Ramsey, Isle of Man.
Funster No
MH
Coachmen Concord 300TS
Exp
8 years with an RV
Follow the belt around, and one of the pulleys will have an adjuster on it.

Craig

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

laird of Dunstan

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 15, 2015
lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 9000DFH
Exp
ex caravanner
Have a good look at the belt first to see if it's got any splits in it, try not to over tighten it as you could destroy the bearings if you do

OP
OP
Southleigh

Southleigh

Free Member
Jan 26, 2015
Bradford on Avon
Funster No
MH
Peurgeot Boxer Symphony
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've located a bracket with a screw thread and nut on the end. Is it simply a matter of carefully tightening the nut or do I have to slacken something else off before I make the adjustment.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
My apologies in advance and not meaning to upset you, but if you need to ask advice on how to tighten the serpentine belt you would be better served by visiting a garage and let a mechanic check it for you.. the belt may need replacing, or the auto tensioner may be seized..

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
A conventional V belt or a poly-V (serpentine) belt should never be adjusted after the initial bedding in. If the belt slackens in service it needs to be replaced. Serpentine belts almost always have an auto-tensioner & if so these comments apply to it even more than to a manually-tensioned belt. Replacement of a serpentine belt must always include the auto- tensioner.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007