Aug 18, 2013
northants
Funster No
MH
ewift escape 686
Exp
since 2009
hi
were off to santander on saturday on the 9.30 crossing and have just read of delays/bad weather so keeping our fingers crossed as this is our first time on this one.
Are there any other members on the same crossing

Momo

Free Member
Sep 19, 2008
Valencia City, Spain
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie.
Just heard on weather forecast there are 7-8m waves from Santander to Bilbao! Would hate to be sailing through those!:Eeek:

Jan 26, 2010
Conwy, North Wales
Funster No
MH
Relay self build
Exp
Since 2007
We crossed on that route recently in bad weather. We took some Boots travel sickness tablets and they did the trick for us. The ship was quite noisy as the waves hit it and there was a load of crockery smashed in the restaurant. An inside cabin may help if you can get a choice as there was less noticeable roll. Internet on board was quite patchy so unreliable. We took an extra 3 hours to what was scheduled so our plans of getting some mileage done whilst there was still daylight were scuppered as we arrived in the dark so felt it better to stop in Santander until the following morning. Altogether, not as bad as we had feared but forewarned is forearmed and a plan B is advisable in case of the unforseen. Have a great trip when you get there !

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
escapee

escapee

Free Member
Aug 18, 2013
northants
Funster No
MH
ewift escape 686
Exp
since 2009
hi
thanks for your replies Lets hope its not as bad as forecast and weve still got our sea legs-might be happier than anticipated to see santander!!

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
Best place in a ship in bad weather is low down and in the middle (side to side and bow to stern).

Once sailed through a hurricane and it was not pleasant......

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp