Heating the habitation area in transit and, roof lights (1 Viewer)

pizzajohn

Free Member
Mar 2, 2014
newton abbot
Funster No
MH
on order
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hi,

We have an Auto-Trail Frontier Comanche and, travelling back to Devon from Brownhills our passengers, in the back, found the temperature uncomfortably cold.

Being new to motor-homing I wondered if others heated the rear of their motor-homes and, how they achieved it?

Also, one of the roof lights is extremely ill fitting and you can jiggle the 'glass' when the light is locked. So loose is it, that wind noise is, supposedly, unbearable. Brownhills say that this is normal, they suggest that it is desirable to not have an effective seal, for ventilation, as the light is above the cooking area. What do you guys think?

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
pull the silver screen across and cut out the draught

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
P

pizzajohn

Free Member
Mar 2, 2014
newton abbot
Funster No
MH
on order
Exp
i'm a newbie
Tried the 'pulled screen' but the vacuum created travelling sucks the life out of the folds.

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
The Autotrail roof lights are, in my opinion bloody awful.
You have to REALLY crank the handle ( to the point I hate opening them as I know I will then have to close em and they scare the pants off me.. I am CONVINCED I will break one !! )
I found that if I reset the point of closing by opening fully ( and I mean fully ) and then re-closing it is sometimes better.. but yes, they are pretty grim

Roger, there is no silver screen on the Autotrail, just a silly concertina thing that you HAVE to have open otherwise, as the OP found, they end up in a right mess !

Heating in the back..
Always a bone of contention for Woman too.