Winter use. Tips? Swift Sundance 530LP (1 Viewer)

JohnnyW

Free Member
Sep 23, 2014
Stirling
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Caravanner for 30 years, new to MHs
I am new to my Swift Sundance 530 LP, but have 25+ years of caravanning experience, so I know many of the tricks.
We have always caravanned all year too, as I am a winter climber, and intend using my van this winter extensively.
I know this is a 'piece of string' question maybe, but how cold would you see it getting before you drained everything? I have a vision of me needing to do it every weekend, or maybe every other one, and it was a lot simpler with my caravan.
We live in Stirling, so do get Scottish winters. I watch the forecast avidly, so if it was just to drop below for a few hours a night for example, would you risk it?
As I say, a swithering question really, but I am just after everyone's experience - Drain it after every trip regardless? Any other obvious things I may need to know? It's having the onboard tanks that is unfamiliar to me. Should I lag any pipes etc? (I will be looking under the van obviously, buy wondered if anyone had any previous knowledge?
And what about salt off the roads?

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
If the forecast is in the minus degrees, I would drain down.. it can be a costly exercise replacing cracked basin and shower taps..

If you have a Truma boiler it should have an auto dump valve that auto drains down when the temperature falls to just above freezing.. IIRC about 6c

Lagging pipes and tanks is certainly worthwhile.. especially if you are using the van in sub zero conditions..

The grey waste pipes and tank is particularly vulnerable in sub zero conditions, .. best to leave the drain valve open and collect the waste in a bucket..

Upvote 0
OP
OP
J

JohnnyW

Free Member
Sep 23, 2014
Stirling
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Caravanner for 30 years, new to MHs