Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I am a Newbie to motorhomes but have caravaned for years
The clutch on my 2008 3 litre m / h works fine but in reverse it is never happy. I was just wondering if anyone makes an uprated clutch for the Peugeot / Fiat base?

Bartyfixedit

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 11, 2014
Maidstone Kent
Funster No
MH
Self Build Ducato L4H3
Exp
Since 1987
The problem on the Fiat is that reverse gear is ridiculously too high a ratio. I reckon reverse is probably similar to 2nd gear hence reversing up hill will always be a problem. I don't think a heavy duty clutch will make any difference. Sorry.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
there is a kit about to convert the dual mass flywheel to a heavy duty clutch. however it allows more vibration and strain on the gearbox

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
barrywi

barrywi

Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
No need to apologise, not your fault. We had to reverse up the ramp onto the ferry from Hull to Rotterdam because of the way they loaded the boat and there was quite a bit of juddering. It is stupid that the gearing is so high, maybe van drivers like to go go fast in reverse. No problem here in Holland where we are on holiday because it is all flat and we have hired a small car to get around.

OP
OP
barrywi

barrywi

Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I did not realise the Peugeot/Fiat had a dual mass flywheel. I hate them. My Peugeot 407 Diesel had one and I had to have two fitted at very low mileages. One they paid for under warranty, but I had to fight to get them to pay anything towards the second one. All happened below 30000 miles. I have had Peugeots in the past that had clutches that lasted 100000 miles even towing a caravan. Progress is over rated!

Sep 26, 2013
Market Rasen
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2003