pamie

Free Member
Aug 10, 2014
Funster No
MH
Hobby 750
Exp
I'm a newbie
we got told that once you reach 70 you loose your C1 from your licence is it a problem to get it back

DJA

Mar 5, 2011
Funster No
MH
A
Exp
Since 2008
Hi

If you want to retain the C1 category on your licence you have to have a medical and the results forwarded to the DVLA. This medical will be required every time you renew your licence after 70 which is every 3 years.

Someone will advise you of the form the doctor has to complete for submission. I think it is something like a D1.

Doug

Upvote 0
OP
OP
pamie

pamie

Free Member
Aug 10, 2014
Funster No
MH
Hobby 750
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thank you for your answer
so you get a D1 from DVLA take it to your docs they fill it out and you send it back to DVLA will there be a time limit befor you are 70 to set this up would not want to be without a licence
pam

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

DJA

Mar 5, 2011
Funster No
MH
A
Exp
Since 2008
Hi

You can apply for the renewal of your licence 2 months prior to the expiry of the old one. I think from memory of reading elsewhere that if there is a delay you can get a document that says you still retain your old categories pending a decision from the DVLA.

I have come across someone who renewed at 70 and their friend commented that it was nice to see he had passed the medical as it must be nice to know the Doc is happy with you.

He said what medical.

He had to go back to the DVLA with a medical report and ask them to restore the C1 category. He had not realised he had lost the C1 and was driving without ilegally. Ooops

Upvote 0
OP
OP
pamie

pamie

Free Member
Aug 10, 2014
Funster No
MH
Hobby 750
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thank you for the info no need to worry now well as long as we pass the medical :)

Upvote 0

DJA

Mar 5, 2011
Funster No
MH
A
Exp
Since 2008
Hi

You can apply 90 days in advance and I think the form is a D4

Have a look on the DVLA site