Jul 22, 2014
Orkney
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,

OK, as most on here know already we are looking to buy an 'older' model...

We have now pretty much narrowed our layout preference down to two formats - U shape rear lounge or the half a U shape lounge (not sure of its technical term!) and note that there are a few manufacturers that used to manufacture these layouts.

Rather than make a fundamental mistake when choosing manufacturer, are there some that are (were) better than others?

Swift Kontiki seems readily available in these layouts but have come across Burstner, Compass and Frankia as well..

Is there one that is considered a better build quality?

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Hymer 534 on the Fiat chassis. Hymer 550 on the Mercedes chassis. Both have U shaped lounges and a drop down over the cab. both are better build quality than any older UK built vans.

Upvote 0

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Dave has suggested two of my favorite vans..

given the choice between them it would be the Hymer 550, as it has (correct me if I am wrong Dave) a fiberglass body with a double floor .. with a bullet proof Merc engine..

From your list.. I would place them in this order of desirability

1. Frankia
2. Burstner
Swift and Compass in third place

Old Kontiki vans were nicknamed (some would say unfairly) leaky Kontikies .. but for any second hand van, old or not.. watch out for damp.. it is a killer.. invest in a damp meter and walk away from anything that has even a hint of damp.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Merle Collins

Merle Collins

Free Member
Jul 22, 2014
Orkney
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie