lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
I have a Cobra alarm fitted to my MH and today when I went to get something from it I pressed the fob button to open doors and switch off alarm, both cab doors unlocked but the hab door didn't. This happened once before and then worked so forgot about it, once I unlocked the door with the key it then started to work again so that's the first problem.

Second problem while I was there I started playing with the alarm to make sure it worked, anyway if I leave a door open and press fob to set alarm it beeps to tell you door is open (sensors on all doors) so this is working as it should. I then tried setting the alarm with all doors closed then unlocked a door with the key, so alarm should still be on I assume. Well the alarm didn't sound until I entered the motorhome is this correct.

I would have thought the minute the door was open with alarm set it should have went off.

canopus

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2010
rural Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Carado CV640 Pro
Exp
Since 2010
I have the same alarm Gerry. Chances are that the hab door does not have a door contact, however once you went inside the van, the inertia sensors probably located somewhere around the dashboard would have been triggered when you moved around.

Our rear garage doors and bonnet all have door contacts fitted, and there are two inertia sensors on the dash, but not there isn't a contact on the hab door.

OP
OP
lorger

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
Hi Ken

There is a small white sensor on the hab door but couldn't see on on the frame will have a better look, there is also a small white box with two silver sprung rods sticking out. I assume this is to tell when door is closed over. All the garage doors have the same white sensor.

The same happened when I opened the cab doors no alarm sound until I stuck my hand inside.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

dave newell