Big ego, unclassified roads combo (1 Viewer)

Flymal

Free Member
Dec 26, 2012
Tayside
Funster No
MH
Conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
This may help prevent someone make a similar sort of mistake as I did last year. I decided to take a drive up the Sma Glen and stop overnight by the wee bridge that crosses the river Almond. We used to picnic there when I was a kid and great for a dook in the pool below, when it was hot. All wonderfully nostalgic and so the next day I set off towards Amulree.

Now just before Amulree, I remembered an old unclassified road through Glen Quaich, up and over to Kenmore. I was sure it wasn't too steep on the bends as I recall and so no real problem. " Any way, I live here and I know all the roads around my gaff - I can handle it." Off I went. I ignored the long vehicle warning. "I mean, my van is not that long, it's only a very small LWB Merc." What a complete idiot. I passed the cattle grid and came to the first hairpin. Man it was steep !!! I was looking above my head at the road, on the apex of the bend. The van ( called "Angus" ) now in 1st gear, stalled. Heeeeelp !! No where to turn. I was lucky, I hadn't really started to turn the hairpin and so I managed to reverse. It's a long way back is a mile in reverse, especially on one of General Wades old roads. "I mean the cheek of the man to come up here and build lousy narrow roads."

My lesson learned here is, never trust your memory nor anyone else's, just in case theirs is as bad as your own. Double check your OS map for the chevrons. "Angus" is officially a long vehicle now.

Sorry. I can not figure out the photo addition yet.

Has anyone else had fun on a steep unclassified road ?

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid