Free Member
Feb 18, 2014
Brechin
Funster No
MH
Swift royale 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all, I have a 1995 Swift Royale 540 2.5tdi. I would like to know why it slows down on inclines from 60mph to 40 and really seems to struggle, embarrassing sometimes :)

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
What speed do you get out of it normally? Do you leave it stood up much? I'm thinking 'sleepy van syndrome' and a sticking turbo waste gate ....

Upvote 0
Oct 1, 2007
Kirby cross further from londin
Funster No
MH
Between Motor homes
Exp
since 08
Hi all, I have a 1995 Swift Royale 540 2.5tdi. I would like to know why it slows down on inclines from 60mph to 40 and really seems to struggle, embarrassing sometimes :)

Turbo hoses seem a good place to start

Specially if accompanied with large plumes of black smoke
Under heavy load

:thumb::thumb::thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

RS_rob

Free Member
Dec 14, 2013
Turnford
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
over a Year Yay................
1st up id say drop it down a cog int 4th

2nd up if your diong this & its still slowing then we would need more info on speed conditions, hill etc

but straight up sounds like it just needs a gear change like my 97 boxer useless on hills 60 to 40 in an instant that is untill i tweak the engine :winky: soon ::bigsmile:

Upvote 0

barrybus

Free Member
Mar 3, 2011
St.Neots Cambs
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
since 1993
Dirty filter !!

Hi there I had similar problem,it turned out to be the gauze filter in the fuel tank pipe pick up.I blew it through with the air hose and it cured it.Hope yours is as simple. Regards Barry

Upvote 0
OP
OP
M

Mick James

Free Member
Feb 18, 2014
Brechin
Funster No
MH
Swift royale 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Speed