Your Favorite FTA Channel

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Braunston, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    Just setting up my FreeSAT box and I have found that it will allow me to add any Free To Air channels,

    The problem is finding those that are available and sorting the good ones from the rest of the rubbish, and I thought it may be very helpful to a number of people if we kept a list of those that people think are worth watching.

    I am not fully up to speed on this subject so any help would be welcome, but I believe we will need to know what satellite the program is on together with the
    Frequency (Mhz), Symbol rate, and the LNB Polarisation, or that is what i have taken from my FreeSAT box

    Thanks

    Braunston
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    occasionaly do a channel scan and trawl through the results looking for new ones then place 'em in my favorites folder.......

    all the usual fta ones + quite a few that i dont get on the house box.

    ditch all the selly telly ones and any that show "reality" tv rubbish and football/sport.

    if it didnt have favorites id bin it out of frustration.

    i have noticed some channels change frequency and i have to go hunting for 'em again
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Agree with John..

    also include in the rubbish, the God channels, :RollEyes:

    Other than the 'normal' channels .. in favourites we have

    True Movies 1 & 2
    Men and Motors
    Film 4
    BBC 24hr News
    CNN
    Euro News
    Sky News
     
  4. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, Jim

    Thanks for the list I get most of those through the FreeSAT box but not Skynews is that free to air and if it is do you know the tunning details please,

    Thanks

    Braunston
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    Yes it's free to air, it's on Astra 1 .. 12204/27500 V


    Jim
     
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Actually UK Sky News is on Astra 2B's South beam...on the frequency you quoted. AStra 2B is located within the satellite constaellation at 28.2 to 28.5 degrees east.

    To access channels that are not in the Freesat EPG, you have to change the mode of your Freesat box, in the Menu options there should be an option to go into Non Freesat mode. You can then load up the FTA channels not included in the Freesat EPG.

    Below are links to UK FTA satellite channel frequencies.

    Free To Air English Channels - Flysat
    Free To Air English Channels - Lyngsat

    To swap back from the Non Freesat Mode to the Freesat mode just change the option in the menu!

    (Not all Freesat boxes will allow you to do this!)

    There is an international version of Sky News on Astra 1L...on 11597 V 22000 5/6- located at 19 degrees east.

    BTW my favourite FTA channels are the MBCs and Fox Movies and Series available on Arabsat (26E) and Nilesat (7W).

    Hope this helps
     
  7. bigfoot

    bigfoot Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,992
    Likes Received:
    5,052
    Location:
    Wirral
    Dave and Blighty also DW-TV and CCTV(China)
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Sky news.. All I know is it says Astra 1 on my TV info ..

    Nile sat.. great .. if your in Morocco..

    But as a complete novice I know little of the technical jargon, .. I have a cheap digi tuner from a Spanish supermarket, I point and tune.. if it works I'm happy.. .. :Laughing:
     
  9. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Nilesat can be received in most or Europe on an 80cm dish..you may need a 1m in the UK, but the channels are alsmost duplicted on Arabsat at 26...which i can get here in spain on a 60cm dish!!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page