Yet another battery question......

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by camcondor, Oct 2, 2013.

  1. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    I was thinking that as I had replaced the leisure battery I may as well add a second one, as per previous thread on this as I have the space in the battery locker.......

    Now the Schaudt panel needs to be "told" about such changes and you need to input a nominal size, ie 110aH or whatever. The panel only takes up to 175aH A- so if you have a dual leisure battery setup, is the "nominal" setting on the Schaudt panel still correct at 110aH? Should it not be 220aH? Although how to set this is uncertain - I think this Schaudt panel dates back to 2007 when 85aH Exide Gel batteries were the in-thing, so two of them would be 170aH.

    Would the Schaudt potentially be overloaded with 220aH rather than the 175aH it can accept so it shows a more accurate calculation of battery amp on its display panel? At this rate, I might just keep a second fully charged leisure battery in the locker and swop over from one to the other if needs be rather than go down expensive EBL upgrades :Eeek:

    Any knowledgeable info gratefully accepted as ever........
     
  2. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    bumpity bump......
     
  3. andyman

    andyman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    On my Burstner the only setting on the Schaudt unit is Gel or FLA. Can't see what difference it would make as the maximum output of the charger is 18 amps.

    Andy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,869
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    it wont damage/overload the panel as its only indicating reserve amps.

    if theres no way to input 220ah then set it to 110ah and double the resulting readout


    ie: showing 80 amps remaining then read as 160amps.

    it only shows amps by reading, very accurately, volts remaining, then a simple calculation converts to amps.

    12.7 volts is fully charged (100%)...12.1 volts is flat (50%)...if it sees 12.4 volts it knows its half discharged from its fully charged state and if it knows the battery is 110ah, as you 'told' it, then it shows 55amps.
    you then have two batteries with 55 amps left in each so 110amps.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Very sensible thanks pappajohn! Just the info I was looking for!
     
Loading...

Share This Page