X250 Alternator fail

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Techno, Dec 20, 2015.

  1. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    It seems my alternator has given up but it's possible it has been going for a while as on occasion the battery parallel dropped out.
    I also think my vanbitz battery master has failed as whilst my leisure batteries are at 13.4 the starter battery is at 12.2
    The engine spun up and started fine despite only 12.2 volts but within a minute the engine revs increased and the starter battery voltage had dropped to 11.8 so clearly the alternator is not delivering.
    We go to Scotland on Thursday so I've had to order a new unit 150amp from Eurocarparts which should arrive Tuesday .

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    Ours went last year, this is on a 2008 plate X250 (2007 build) with around +40k on the clock. Didn't really affect us much as we have a split charge solar panel on the roof. Got home okay and had a new alternator fitted.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Same as mine and about 46k
     
  4. SandraL

    SandraL Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Somerset
    • Like Like x 1
  5. fleurette

    fleurette Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    worcester
    Sod's law, always happens when your planning a trip away, saying that mines a 2008 so better not tempt fate....fingers X.Hope you get it sorted:xThumb:.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Thanks my earths are fine
     
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Out of interest does anyone know (for sure) if I'll need a puller to swap the drive pulley from old to new unit?
     
  8. SandraL

    SandraL Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Somerset
    But is the output cable from alternator that goes through the starter motor ok? I added that bit as an edit so arrived a bit later.......or perhaps the link inside the starter motor if I am reading the picture correctly.
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Dunno I'll check thanks
    Edit I didn't realise the Alternator output went via the starter motor , thanks again.
    All my fuses are ok at the battery
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  10. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    The alternator output doesn't go through the starter it is simply connected to the main positive feed from battery to starter solenoid at the solenoid connection itself, this is a common method of connection and has been done like this for over 30 years.

    D.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Pulley doesn't need a puller but does need a flared spanner
     
  12. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Mine came with the pulley already attached the other day, albeit mine was for an X244 not X250.

    D.
     
  13. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  14. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I've just ordered a drive belt too. No point re fitting the old one.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Not familiar with the physical arrangement but the drawing shows a direct link inside the solenoid from alternator o/p cable to battery cable. The more conventional arrangement has both cables on the same stud. No difference electrically.
     
  16. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes they are
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Having studied the task I believe that I will have trouble with the AC compressor drive belt and the Elearn manual says to cut it off. This of course requires a belt stretcher to refit a new one.
    The Alternator drive belt should be removable after loosening the tensioner roller and after removing the compressor belt.
    My aircon needs re gassing and I won't be using it so I'll manage without a belt for now.
     
  18. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,280
    Likes Received:
    12,109
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    I don't understand anything from above, other than your alternator has failed, the good news is it failed now not in some remote outcrop of Scotland, hope it swaps easily, enjoy your trip and Merry Christmas :xThumb:
     
    • Like Like x 3
  19. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    The most likely reason for these alternators not coming with the pulley is that there are two scenarios, those with aircon and those without. The double pulley with a 6 and a 4 rib section of different diameters is a very expensive item on its own.
    OR maybe not , hard to tell from the pictures I have.
    EDIT Naa gotta be the crankshaft with a twin pulley
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  20. SandraL

    SandraL Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Somerset
    "With most smart charge alternators the charging voltage is controlled by a pwm signal from the ecu/pcm/bsi, if you disconnect the pwm signal the voltage should default to 14.4V or thereabouts."

    Might be worth a try IF its the same as yours, this from same thread on fiat forum I posted earlier in post no 4. The drawing does show lead from ecu.
     
Loading...

Share This Page