Working through a number of solar/battery problems... (1 Viewer)

ChrisMatheson

Free Member
Nov 2, 2014
Hastings
Funster No
MH
Iveco Coach Built
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi,

Seem to have a number of problems with my solar/battery set-up.

I've just got my first camper van, and I'm enjoying living in it very much. It's been a bit of a learning curve, and I'm still finding out what everything does...

I've got a solar set-up that is a little Heath Robinson. There are 4 x 85w panels on the roof connected to a Steco PR2020 control panel, charging 4 x 110ah leisure batteries that have seen better days.

The control panel has come up with a fault code EO7, which seems to be a low voltage warning. Which is strange, as the panel was showing around 75% charged just before (Now showing 10% & 12v). I've had a look at the manual on-line http://www.marlec.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Steca-PR10-30-Manual.pdf and did a quick diagnostic, as per the manual and it's showing a 111 fault on the unit. According to the manual, it needs to go back to the manufacturer.

Firstly, does anyone know if there is anything I can do, other than send it back to the manufacturer?

Secondly, on the Heath Robinson side of things. The 12v appliances (fridge, lighting & a couple of 12v cigarette lighter sockets ) are connected directly to the batteries, along with the 300w inverter (used to power a small TV, computer & occasionally a small guitar amp). Am I right in thinking that these should be connected through the load terminals?

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Chris

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I am thinking of putting a better solar controller in our van as at the moment it only has a pretty basic "shunt" type controller and if I want to add a second PV panel later I need to do something about the controller.