Free Member
Jul 25, 2015
Dorset
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 590RS
Exp
1 day
Hi. My fiat ducato is playing up and won't start. I have recently jumped started it and ran it, following day - no joy. The gauge indicates the battery charge at 12.9V. Secondary to this the central locking fuse then blows. The ignition lights illuminate, there is fuel, I do not think I have anything left on. I replace the fuse only for the whole process to re occur the following day.

Any clues please?.

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
Im no mechanic but sounds like a short in a wire. Hopefully someone technical will be along shortly.
Hope you get it fixed, asking here Im sure you will.

Oct 7, 2015
newark
Funster No
MH
Swift escape 624
Exp
Hi is it turning over properly, or is it sluggish to turn. You may have a starter motor problem it could be taking to much power to turn over?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
John Rowe

John Rowe

Free Member
Jul 25, 2015
Dorset
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 590RS
Exp
1 day
Not turning over at all. If I connect a power pack starter to it, it still won't start. I have to jump start it.

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
Check the battery connection.
By clipping on the jump leads you might be disguising the bad connection of the vans leads to the battery. You need to remove both pos and neg and clean the insides of the terminals and the battery posts, the lead corrodes so badly that I've had to do it with a sharp knife before now. The blowing fuse is more of a mystery.

Molls-Phot

Free Member
Oct 8, 2009
Lee-on-Solent
Funster No
MH
Swift Rio 340
Exp
Since November 2009