Free Member
Sep 13, 2016
Dorset
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi relatively new to this we bought a motorhome this year and have been to Devon and Cornwall on campsites. But given that we both work all week I want to try and use the van as much as possible even in winter for the odd wk end night we like walking down on the coast and would like to know is there many places that you can just park up for say one night without having to book a on a site. Maybe car parks or designated areas.we live in Dorset so at most an hour from the coast . Want to use the van but don't want to get in trouble. Would appreciate any help.
Thanks.

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
There will be plenty of wilding spots if you can find them. People tend to keep them quiet though because once they become common knowledge they start to get abused. Someone might share some spots in your area with you.

Some car parks will allow overnighting, some wont, it varies from place to place. @GJH will be able to tell you more.

Another option for you, and the one we use most in the UK, is pub stops. You have a couple of options to find these: There is @keith 's map here or you could have a look at Britstops

appydaze

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 12, 2009
southend on sea essex
Funster No
MH
Merc high top
Exp
20 years
Hi and welcome to the club.:welc: A couple of years ago we stayed overnight on the seafront car park at Lowstoft. Parking was free after 6pm till 9am and there are toilets next door and a nice fish and chip shop opposite. Heaven. I hope it is still the same nowdays.
Someone may come along to verify or not. Good luck. (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
Maybe car parks or designated areas.
Some car parks will allow overnighting, some wont, it varies from place to place. @GJH will be able to tell you more.