witch is the best tv AERIAL to get

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by do1977, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. do1977

    do1977 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    where i park up
    i want to find out what is the best freeview AERIAL to get for my rv as the one it has if past it
    on my old camper i used to have a STATUS 530/5 UHF VHF & FM AERIAL that was good and worked in france but they are £130
    but i have seen the Status 315 Digital TV Areial for £85

    has anyone used these or tell me what they think

    thanks
     
  2. Tiderus

    Tiderus Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tywyn, West Wales
    Hi, just bought a motorhome and wanted an aerial. So the Status 530/5 seemed the best on the market according to our fellow funsters. As I have a lowline now, the /5 model is perfect, as no overhead cab to block the signal. It took very little fitting by the door alongside the TV, and the picture is great. Originaly I ordered one to be fitted by the dealer at a price of £270, But they forgot, so for £85 off ebay with a damaged box I saved a few bob. ( It may be the one you looked at.)The best I found new was £104, complete with the splitter box and booster. But don't buy the onmi directional ones, Iv'e tried but not a lot of good. Happy hunting Rgd's Graham.
     
  3. derekfaeberwick

    derekfaeberwick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Berwick
    Don't waste your money, they truly are rubbish.:Sad:
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Rubbish.

    If there is a strong signal they do work but for sensitivity right at the bottom of the heap.

    For £20 or less you can buy a normal house type aerial that will be as good as the 530 but not convenient.

    And the other school of thought goes "Sat Dish" which can be cheaper than the 315. Downside - Trees.
     
  5. Fatalhud

    Fatalhud Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I wouldn't bother and go for a cheap SATELLITE set up
    you can achieve this for around £80

    Alan H
     
  6. derekfaeberwick

    derekfaeberwick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Berwick
    And strong(ish) wind.:cry:

    For the cheap Lidl jobs that is.
     
  7. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Gone RVing
    Does the RV not have the obligatory wind up bat wing?
     
  8. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi go for the STATUS 530/5 :thumb: never had a problem with ours:thumb: or if you do not mind how it looks a pole and normal tv ariel @ around £15
    terry
     
  9. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    What on earth is your avatar ? Looks like an accident involving an R6 and a pushbike.
     
  11. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I'll resist the wind jokes :)
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,884
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Status 315 !!!!!

    stick a wire coathanger in the aerial socket......it will work better.:Sad:

    if you want cheap and dont mind setting up a pole outside then a normal domestic aerial just cant be beaten.:thumb:
     
  13. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    5,561
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    If its on an Rv and has the Wingaurd aerial they work just fine
    It is however a powered aerial and the box has to be switched on otherwise its as useful as damp string.
    If power is on and it don't work, a new mast head is available

    Failing that remove the bat wing and fasten a domestic type in its place it can then still be lowered and spun round:thumb:
    The Staus 530 arial is an excelent arial but on an RV:Eeek: shame on you:BigGrin::BigGrin::BigGrin:
     
  14. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Gone RVing

    'Tis why I asked...

    Chap we bought Winne from condemed the aerial. I queried the power unit booster thing and he said he didn't know what it was. Needless to say switched on and it works great.
     
  15. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Status 315 £88-08p from us less Funsters Discount:thumb: got one on the boat and works very well.

    Peter
     
  16. aldhp21

    aldhp21 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    830
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    I'd say get the 530/5. I got mine and had it fitted at Johns Cross. Really pleased with it.

    Alan
     
  17. thestoneroller

    thestoneroller Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    staffordshire
    We had a cheap directional ariel on a pole attached to the side of the van, worked fine but unfortunatly forgot to take it down before leaving a site:Doh: We left it on a road somewhere in wales at least i think we only had the cable left when we got home.
    Have replaced with a status 530/5, that one not going anywhere it goes through the roof and excellent picture too.:BigGrin:
     
  18. paulmold

    paulmold Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    301
    Location:
    North Wales
    We've got the Status 315 on our Autosleeper Symphony and this summer we gave up watching TV as we could not get a signal either analogue or digital almost anywhere. We never had a problem with the same model in our caravan.
    We looked at getting a stand-alone directional on a pole but decided to wait until the digital switchover before deciding anything, as we are limited in space to carry anything extra. Glad we did. Today I decided that as digital switchover is complete in our area (North-East Wales) I'd try the TV again. With the MH on our drive, where previously we could only get BBC channels on digital and nothing at all on analogue, we have now got a full service of all digital channels available to us.
    So those of you who said on the forum that once the full signal strength was up and running the Status 315 would probably be OK were absolutely right (well certainly in our case).
     
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    It's well worth checking the 3 plugs. I found one on the amplifier with the earth/screen loose.

    Moron "electricians" are prone to making a complete hash of co-ax cable. Often not soldering the inner wire, which works, until it tarnishes then you are in trouble.
     
Loading...

Share This Page