Jul 22, 2014
Orkney
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,

Do many of you guys do many trips away during the winter months?

We're just contemplating whether or not to wait til after Christmas before buying our first van or get one now and get started straight away ...

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
You will probably get a better bargain buying out of season. We bought our first MH last June and sorned it for Oct, but we swapped it Jan, will never sorn it again. Don't let the time of year put you off, we learned that!

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Merle Collins

Merle Collins

Free Member
Jul 22, 2014
Orkney
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
You will probably get a better bargain buying out of season. We bought our first MH last June and sorned it for Oct, but we swapped it Jan, will never sorn it again. Don't let the time of year put you off, we learned that!

So did you get much use out of it in January? We'll only be using it around Scotland and aren't sure if it will be too cold?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
So did you get much use out of it in January? We'll only be using it around Scotland and aren't sure if it will be too cold?
We are in Scotland too, although further south than you but if your heating is working don't let the weather put you off, we didn't and truth be told it was because the MH had road tax so we decided to use it.

Upvote 0
Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
we went up to Durness in January this year, then spent some time at Grantown

we have a well insulated MH and good heating

biggest problem we found was no water available on site due to site taps freezing

good old watering can to the rescue again, might only be 10 litres at a time from the toilet block but better than not having water