Windscreen Radio Aerial

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Randonneur, Sep 1, 2008.

  1. Randonneur

    Randonneur Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charente, Fr
    Help needed. Has anyone fitted a windscreen radio aerial to a 2002 Fiat Ducato?
     
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    can you still receive a signal inside the Fiat recall centre shed?
    :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  3. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    I heard it was a bit like Area 51.Things go in never to be seen again.:RollEyes:

    Sorry No.

    Is that for a mobile phone or normal radio?Fitted a bonded on aerial to the windscreen of a van in the past.



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2008
  4. Randonneur

    Randonneur Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charente, Fr
    What on earth have the last 2 replies to do with the question i asked?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    well my post was a bit of fun, it is on Motorhome FUN
    and the second, as well as fun asked a serious question, lighten up.:Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  6. Randonneur

    Randonneur Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charente, Fr
    Light enough already.

    The first reply went completely over my head, didn't understand the meaning at all.

    The aerial we are trying to fit is for a normal car radio (Sony). Don't know where the fitted aerial is in our motorhome but there obviously is one as we can receive French stations. On our previous van, a Rapido, there was a windscreen aerial already fitted and we were able to get Radio 4 which is what we listen to when travelling. We have swapped the Radios about with the one in our previous van, a Sony also, but nothing, so it is definitely the aerial.:Doh:
     
  7. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Hi Randonneur,

    On our A class Adria, fitting a windscreen mounted aerial was a bit of a mission involving getting behind the dashboard (Geo remembers that one I'm sure!!!) - I suspect you will have a similar situation of finding a route for the aerial behind the dash involving scrabbling around in awkward positions and places under the dash!!! Just a thought though - is there a current radio in your van? If so, there should be an aerial connection going to it which you should be able to attach to the new radio. If not, then there probably isn't one. Using a windscreen attached aerial, whether for radio or for sat nav etc, is pretty easy really, just ensure the plug is compatible with your radio plug, test the radio with said aerial BEFORE going to all the trouble of installing it under the dash, then route the aerial wire to the radio in a way that is as visually "invisible" as possible and it should be ok. I guess your problem is really how to route the lead under the dash........

    Regards

    Laurie
     
  8. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    If the aerial is an internal strip type, then it should have an adhesive backing with co-ax lead attached. Simply peel off backing and slap the aerial strip on your screen.

    If its an external glass mount aerial then it wont be a strip aerial and will be in two parts. The part with the co-ax is stuck to the inside of the glass with the aerial base fitting stuck on the outside.

    If neither of the above answers your question i'd suggest nipping down to any nearby auto electric or ICE (in-car entertainment) dealer and they will soon sort you out.
     
  9. Randonneur

    Randonneur Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charente, Fr
    Many thanks for the replies.

    We have a radio already installed with an aerial that comes from somewhere!!!!!! My OH has taken part of the dash away and tried to get the pillar cover off but this cover goes all the way down to the floor, as far as we can see, and this is the problem trying to get the aerial wire down at the back of the pillar cover where it meets the bulky part of the dash where the air outlets are. We could push the wire in but with movement it will cut into it in no time.
     
  10. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    As you already have an aerial installed....why are you trying to fit another?
    It seems like you are making work for yourself which isn't really necessary. You will end up removing the entire dashboard, and on many model vans that can prove to be a long fiddly job.
     
  11. Randonneur

    Randonneur Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charente, Fr

    Because the aerial fitted, wherever that is, is not good enough to pick up the radio stations that we want. We have no problem receiving Radio 4 in our car and we had no problem picking up Radio 4 in our previous motorhome but the aerial in this newer van is useless. It is definitely the aerial and not the radio which is a new Sony model because we fitted our previous Sony model and we still can't get Radio 4. Radio 4 is the only English speaking station we can receive here in France.
     
  12. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    I'm assuming you must be motoring around close to the northern coast near the channel then? Much further away than that and no 'normal' aerial will pick up signals from the BBC (apart from sw). You'd need to carry 60+ft of tower mast around with you and somehow i couldn't see many site owners being too happy about you erecting a thing like that!

    Before taking anything apart i'd establish first 100% that it is the aerial at fault.

    Simplest and quickest way to do that would be to do what i suggested previously. Go along to a local auto electrics or ICE store and let them look at the situation first. It might cost you a few quid getting it right, but would be money well spent and will save you lots of mither.
     
  13. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Blimey!! I've just had a look at your location in France.

    If you managed to picked up BBC radio on VHF or MW from there all i can say is......amazing!:Eek!:

    The frequencies on that band are directional and as a result are (for obvious reasons) not aimed south.....at least not that far south! If you want to listen to english speaking radio then i'd suggest you buy a good quality short wave receiver. There are even a few made for in dash fitting though personally i'd sooner buy a good table top set.
     
  14. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Before spending money you may not need to I assume you were able to receive radio 4 in your old van at your current location, recently. In which case are you sure the radio has SW/MW and you are switched to that rather than FM. France is too far to pick up an FM signal unless propagation is very good. As we are currently at the bottom of the sunspot cycle propagation is very poor at the moment, that means radio signals are much weaker, If for instance you were there in you last van a few years ago then the situation would have been much different. If you still have your old van there can you still get radio 4 in it. If yes then 1st thing to try is connecting any other antenna to the radio and see if the situation improves. Good luck
     
  15. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,827
    Likes Received:
    76,097
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    You will probably find that your aerial is in your wing mirror, I had a fiat motorhome with this setup, the reception was terrible. I ended up putting a Haffords stubby aerial on the wing.
     
  16. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    If as Jim says it is in the wing mirror and the glass easy enough to remove you may be able to fit a stubby ant on the back of the mirror using existing wiring, that would be very neat, tidy and straight forward.
     
  17. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Just a thought but why bother with an aeriel at all?

    Go digi and get a sat set up and you will receive all the BBC stations.....plus a lot more of course.
     
  18. Kon tiki

    Kon tiki Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Wales
    Just picked our new MH an Adria Izola on the Renault Master, fitted our old radio in but couldn't get it to tune in to any stations. This was while we were still at the dealers, the guy there had a go even trying a different radio. He then contacted Adria only to find they have to remove the original roof aerial as the van is a coach built but don't replace it with anything :Angry::Eeek: They even fit extra speakers but we found these aren't connected to anything the wires are just left under the dashboard :swear:
    The guy at Timberland thought it was stupid as well & agreed for me to get one fitted & they will cover the cost.
    I was wondering if I do get one fitted on the bodywork somewhere would there be any implications with the warranty :Sad: or am I better getting a winscreen aerial, if so which ones work best?? Our last van came with a winscreen aerial & it worked ok but did seem a bit directional.
     
  19. gillr49

    gillr49 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Holbeach Lincolnshire
    When we were in S. Burgundy we got radio 4 on MW for 6 months not using the van radio but using an old radio with a pull up ariel the last couriers had left. It was our only link with the UK as it was difficult to get papers out of 'season':Rofl1:If/when we go again we will definitely use a sat. dish.
    So the cheapest answer to your question is to get an old radio with a pull up ariel. We could never get Radio 4 on the van and still cannot understand it as we have a top of the range Becker radio.
    Not much help, sorry:RollEyes:
     
  20. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    my ducato had an aerial coax already installed BUT it originally went to a factory fitted standard ROOF mounted aerial........pretty much useless and in the way on a coachbuilt so the manufacturers just remove it and fit nowt to replace it. :Angry:
     
Loading...

Share This Page