Windows 10 AAARRRRRGGGHHH

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Phill D, Feb 3, 2016.

  1. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    been fine for several weeks and over the weekend decided to fully make the change away from Win 7 ; so basically transferred everything to win 10 and thought onward and upwards!!!

    today

    Start menu button wont work, cant access diddly squat through the apps, only by going around the houses to files. cant access email or calendar etc.

    tried all the recommended fixes in all of the shapes and all of the sizes and now i need a stiff drink.

    still does not work;;;

    anyone had the same problem it just seemed to happen or not ( you know what i mean )

    AAArRRGGG
     
  2. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,672
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Nope. Got it on 3 machines....superb!
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I wont download/upgrade until I really have to.....which will be if I need a new laptop/pc in the future.
     
  4. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    been great till today the just out of the blue (( no no i dont mean blue, please not that toooo :eek: ) no start button access.
    seems to be a lot of it about when you look for a solution on tinterweb.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. Billy23

    Billy23 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    2,783
    Location:
    On a planet...far, ....far away.
    3 machines for many months, great.:)
     
  6. Xabia

    Xabia Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Rural Nottinghamshire
    I had problems with email app, suddenly wouldn't let me access live mail or gmail. Lots of conversations with Microsoft helpline - they couldn't sort it so downloaded Mailbird which works fine.

    Seriously thinking about getting an iMac, much preferred 7, 10 is not working well for me.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I will wait until, at least, Windows 10 Service Pack 1 is released. I am still using Windows 7 and even XP on one machine ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. Mack100

    Mack100 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    here
    I feel your pain, I had a similar experience. You may still have the option to roll back to Win7.



    That's what I did, haven't regretted it one bit.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. DiggerJon

    DiggerJon Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    4,431
    Location:
    Dorchester, Dorset
    Windows XP for me - unsupported or not!! Windows 7 was a nightmare and now I'm a convert to my Macbook Air running Virtual Box and Windows XP for the one program I have to run on Windows.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Viennese

    Viennese Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    Location:
    Oxford
    I'm still running XP, but considering upgrading via Windows 7 which is an option on this machine. Unfortunately my techie is not impressed with 10 and wants me to carry on with XP. Currys are still using XP on their till system I recently discovered...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. ****

    **** Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    463
    I get this now and then as 10 and my Inspiron 1545 dont seem to get in. Graphics driver i think. Anyway a reboot tend to fix the problem but dont use the power button. Hit the windows key and up down arrows to get to power and again to close down or reboot. Yeh i should not have to but this is an old laptop and not my main one. You lot who are on XP and to scared to change. No mater what your excuse is people said it all before from win98, 98se, ME but still moved on. Embrace change man just embrace change :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    I've had it but I had my in house IT consultant cure it (my youngest son)
    There is a fix on Google but it didn't seem that simple to me:oops2:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    interesting i have a Inspiron 1564 i have tried everything that google can suggest and still zilch...

    i cant seem to go back to windows 7 as its been more than 2 months since i "UPGRADE"!!!
    i am about to do a system restore and then a possible reboot of the windows 10 instal.

    the frustrating thing is the tinterweb including microsoft's web site is littered with this problem since july last year so why has there not been an update to fix it!!
     
  14. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,873
    Likes Received:
    76,309
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    • Funny Funny x 4
  15. ****

    **** Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    463
    You not got a 7 disk? what about a 7 hidden partition on the HDD as i had one build in from dell. Since wiped it but i have a disk if i wanted to roll back. Never did this but put your key in this link and see if it gives you the iso and failing that try the torrents but dont download a cracked version.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows7
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    i'd need to rob a bank at them inflated prices...:LOL:
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    well i have resisted the temptation to do anything Physically drastic to my laptop..:rolleyes:
    even more important
    i have resisted @Jim tempting help to change stables to a Macbook :cautious:

    so i have done a system restore back to 1 feb and all looks well. thAT
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    tHAT IS UNTIL THE UPDATE COMES BACK AND CATCHES ME AGAIN....(n)

    I hope it was something other than an update bug and that it was as simple as allowing my 14 year old Grandson access to my laptop....

    time will tell; i hope thats the last of it and its upward and onward. :pray:
     
  19. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
    No wonder Microsucks gave away Windows 10 for free!

    Imagine if you had to pay for it!


    :cooler:
     
  20. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,672
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Would still be a lot cheaper than buying the super overpriced Crapple!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
Loading...

Share This Page