david hodgson

Free Member
Jul 18, 2015
poole dorset
Funster No
MH
hymer E690
Exp
hi, starting the beginning of September we intend to tour Scotland. our route should be roughly Edinborough, Perth Dundee Aberdeen inverness fort William Oban then into loch Lomand on our way to the lake district. anyone know of any wildcamping spots we could stay at we would love to hear about

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
David there will be loads in all these places so would be a bit hard to list them all. In Scotland if your sensible you'll find somewhere to stay and the further north the easier it gets.

Captain Biggles

Free Member
Aug 27, 2012
Sunny Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
David my wife & I have just returned from another visit 'North of the Boarder', this time to the Outer Hebrides and we'd certainly advise heading NorthWest to anyone.

Edinborough is worth a visit, however Perth Dundee Aberdeen and Inverness are all a bit mundane and similar. I used to cover Scotland in a previous life and know them all quite well and simply would not rate the East Coast, if it's lochs, mountains, beautiful awe inspiring scenery, desolate wildernesses, an abundance of wildlife and sheer peace and quiet that you are after, then head North West.

Fort William is a place to stock up on provisions prior to heading further North, oh, and I suppose you could do a quick ascent & descent of Ben Nevis whilst you're there which will take you ~4.5 hrs if you're reasonably fit.

Oban and more especially the area to the North of Oban is certainly worth a visit.

Ullapool has a fantastic fish & chip shop (having won many awards) right near the ferry terminal and appart from the Fish & Chip shop in Stromness, Orkney, Ullapool comes out tops. Not that we have a Fish & Chip fixation, just that we thought that their fish & chips were to be reccommended to anyone venturing up that way.