Wifi interference with alarms (1 Viewer)

SoapyTutti

Free Member
Jan 21, 2013
East Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
"I'm a newbie"
Has anyone had any experience or problems with a Campsites Wifi System interfering with their central locking/alarm system or ignition on their motorhome?

I have been approached today at Marjal Costa Blanca Spain that some motorhomer's from various countries think that the wifi here has caused them problems when they have gone to start their engines having been stood for a couple of weeks or the alarms/central locking personally I have not been affected in any such was and started our van on at least three occasions

Oct 12, 2008
Balma (next to Toulouse) France
Funster No
MH
HymerCamp 51Capucine
Exp
Since 2011/owner since 6/03/2014
Well I do have problems the other way round ! The Baby Video system stops my Wifi from working. Either I can check the babies I care in their room and no TV no Internet, OR I Watch TV and have internet!

Guess what I do:Blush: ....

I changed the whole system and came back to WIRED internet and TV LOL!

Done that all day today ! Had to take all the papers and files from one desk and put the whole system in the living room.....and then sort out all the files to put them on the desk in my bedroom .... But ...it's working fine!:thumb:

Frankie

Last edited:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Wifi System interfering with their central locking/alarm system or ignition on their motorhome?

It shouldn't on a properly designed system. That's what the EMC directive is all about. One system should not interfere with another.

WiFi is on a frequency of
Unlock dongles

Huge difference.

But if the design of the alarm or ignition is crap or faulty, who knows.

There was a case in the UK where the new Police radio system was on a close frequency to door dongles and if people parked near a transmitter they could not get in their car.