Why no British channels? Oyster 85 dish.

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Norman Jones, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Norman Jones

    Norman Jones Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Nr Aberystwyth
    When on tour in Europe we are used to receiving 200 German channels and 2 English News channels. But why the heck am I still only receiving all these foreign ones at home in Wales, it's driving me nuts.
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,474
    Likes Received:
    16,941
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Possibly tuned to Astra 1.
    Mostly German channels I believe.
    Very close to astra 2 in orbit so easy to lock on the wrong one.
     
  3. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    11,557
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You can get SC4 on satellite? :)

    But if your dish is still pointing at the satellite it was when in Europe, which it will if possible, you will get exactly the same channels.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,125
    Location:
    Kettering
    Probably locking on to the wrong satellite or possibly the wrong transponder. Make sure you're on Astra 2 at 28.2 degrees.
     
  5. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    It sounds as though your Oyster is still pointing at the Astra 1 position (19.2° East of South) instead of the Astra 2 cluster (28.2° East of South).
     
  6. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    That means you are in the wrong satellite as that's Astra 1 ( German ) and not Astra 2 at 28.2 degrees ( English ). I would suggest you check settings in the user menu of your system. It may need updating.
     
  7. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
    My guess is that your on Astra1 @19.2 East. You need to reset your dish manually onto Astra 28.2 East, then put it in the memory.

    Or you could just use Freeview through a normal TV Ariel!

    :cooler:
     
  8. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Why would he manual tune when the system is automatic!
     
  9. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Try here as I think your software may be outdated:
    http://blog.conrad-anderson.co.uk/?tag=oyster-satellite-problems
     
  10. Norman Jones

    Norman Jones Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Nr Aberystwyth
    Yes it is going to 19.2, but when I switch it to 28.2 I get NOWT. Must be too many B trees & hills at home !Seems the answer is a chainsaw!
     
  11. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
    Because the system locks onto Transponders entered into the system memory, so if Astra 28.2 isn't in the memory, you have to put it in yourself.
    I am assuming that the poster has checked the memory for Astra 28.2.
    The system I had, allowed up to 4 Transponders in the memory.

    :cooler:
     
  12. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
  13. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
Loading...

Share This Page