Whoo Whoo Fon

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by chaser, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    We are outside a cafe in verdun, and lo and behold I am posting this message with a fon connection, first time I have ever got it to work in three years of trying, went straight to login , put my bt details in and b.....r me its working.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  2. scousebird

    scousebird Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13,584
    Likes Received:
    20,579
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Well let's not waste it - have a nice day (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    As you were, its unconnected because it says I have too many devices connected, iv only got my phone with me!
    So back on with o2 roaming, works everywhere £1.99 a day but worth it compared with all this signing in and stuff
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Terry and Jan

    Terry and Jan Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Saltash,Cornwall
    As i'm with Virgin for my landline, I bought a Fon box off the net and set it up. just been to Spain and Portugal and the Fon log in in both countries worked a treat.
     
  5. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I don't know what the hell I'm doing wrong iv followed addies instructions to the letter and still got nowhere then today out of the blue it worked but then said I had too many devices connected, what the hell does that mean when I have only got my phone with me. Not overly worried as I can usually find a WiFi or as I said use o2 but it really is baffling.
     
  6. Wedgy

    Wedgy Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Fon works fine for me when in France, but obviously only if I'm near a built up area.
    Use a wifi directional antenna,set up laptop as a hotspot and can then connect multiple devices to it.
     
  7. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Does it know how many I have connected at home on bt, tv etc, as I said baffling
     
  8. Wedgy

    Wedgy Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Taken form Fon website
    "you can connect using more than one device at the same time (up to a maximum of 3 connections per Fon account). However, at different Fon Spots it is not possible to connect using the same account at the same time."
     
  9. reckless

    reckless Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sussex
    I found this old reference to FON

    And if im correct, all you need is a BT line rental agreement to use them.

    To connect easily you need to download the official BT WIFI APP then set up a BT ID account using your email address (must be registered with BT) and BT line account number.....you DO NOT need a BT broadband account.


    Is this correct? The app basically says it's for Broadband or Business customers.

    We wanted to try it for Germany next month (got 3 for the rest) using my mum's BT landline account (this is registered with my email address in any case).

    We don't want to buy a FON box.

    Thanks
     
  10. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,036
    Likes Received:
    4,106
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    I have a Fon router and BT broadband at home. I've never been able to connect with BT outside of the U.K., but Fon is easy. We have an Iboost connected to an SFR Fon spot somewhere nearby and can connect both iPads, both iPhones and a Macbook at the same time.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. chaser
    Replies:
    26
    Views:
    616
  2. chaser
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    612

Share This Page