Which Size Alternator Please?

Discussion in 'Fiat' started by JockandRita, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Hi all. :)

    I can't gain access to the alternator, to get the model/part number nor the amps output figure, so as to order a new one, and I can't take the old one off, as I need to move the MH to the workshop.

    Can anyone tell me if it would be the 80A, (don't think so somehow) 110A, or the 120A, that would have been fitted.
    Although I have supplied the chassis number to Ford & Slater (Fiat Professional), they can't tell me which one was originally fitted.
    It's a 99 Hymer on a Ducato 230 (Maxi), 2.8TDi with cab air con, and the engine code is 8140.43, version 1.48.

    Cheers for now,

    Jock. :)
     
  2. Simon

    Simon Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Ramsgate, Kent
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  4. Ivory55

    Ivory55 Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    1,440
    Location:
    North West Norfolk
    Am not mechanically minded but if they are physically the same Size and it fits in the hole does it matter if the amp out put is more ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Yes thanks Simon, and like F & S, I get three options, ie, Ducato platform, bus, or box chassis, hence the choice of three amperage outputs.

    @ScotJimland, Not yet Jim, but will do. Thanks. (y)

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Failing that Jock .. a call or email to Peter Hambilton

    if anyone knows .. he will
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Jim, that link keeps coming up as an error code 666, after I enter the Vin No. :(

    F&S just phoned to say that Fiat have discontinued the 110A alternator, and to fit the 120A one, would require quite a bit of alteration, so that narrows it down a bit then. :) I reckon the 80A will be too small an output, so I'll possibly go for the 110A, but from a good Motor Factor.

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
  8. sillybug

    sillybug Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    norfolk
    have you considered having it reconditioned we had ours done i think it cost about 60 odd pounds cant remember exactly but has been fine ever since and it only took 1 day to do worth a thought . hope this helps

    siilybug
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Simon, these two are the same company, and although there is one in P/boro, they only sell reconditioned units, but thanks for the info. (y)

    Yes, I did consider that thanks. :) The problem for me, is that I have to move the vehicle to my pal's workshop, have the alternator and cambelt replaced at the same time, and then drive home. There is not the facility for the MH to be sat there waiting for the alternator to be reconned, or for any further delay in waiting for a new one, if it can't be rconned.

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Just spoke with him Jim, but he doesn't know which one would have originally been fitted.

    I've got the Fiat Part No now, so I'll try cross referring with aftermarket makes.

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
  11. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    I imagine that will be to do with the different backplate and connections. :(

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    was worth a try..

    you explained about your pals workshop .. understood, but when he gets the old one off, can he not take it to a motor factor for exchange .. ?

    they are normally exchange units anyway ..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    • Like Like x 1
  14. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Alternator ordered, and should be here tomorrow or Wednesday. (y)
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FIAT-COMM...101253?pt=LH_Alternator_3&hash=item56730825c5

    I might see about getting the old one reconditioned.

    I also got the cambelt today, but only noticed the seal broken when I got home, and guess what? Yep, the wrong blooming belt in the right box. Exchange on it's way tomorrow. (y)

    Thanks all for help and info. (y)

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Steve

    Steve Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Location:
    Compton Berkshire
    not long ago had mine changed (2004 2.8jtd) was 110amp i replaced it with a 150 which i got from euro carparts cost £2oo and a bugger to fit as slightly bigger.
    Steve
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    5,010
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I thought Hymers were normally fitted with 180 amp alternators I think thats what my one has.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    I did mention to F&S (Fiat Professional) that I was sure the converter specified a higher output alternator, but that didn't raise any eyebrows, so to speak.
    Anyway, as Steve posted above, (thanks Steve (y) ) the original from his 2.8JTd was a 110A, so that'll do me, as I also have the Sterling B2B 50A Charger.
    Getting the larger 120A output wasn't going to be worth the hassle to alter, as it is quite different at the rear. :(

    Cheers for now,

    Jock.
     
  18. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    BTW Steve, when I did look at what Europarts offered, it was only an 80A unit for £145, plus a £72 surcharge. :eek:

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
  19. Steve

    Steve Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Location:
    Compton Berkshire
    it was becouse of the b2b i burnt the old one out. My own fault they did say to fit the sensor wire but i knew best :cry:
     
  20. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Steve, how long from the time of fitting the Sterling B2B charger, did the alternator burn out please?
    Our B2B was fitted over three years ago, and the alternator was about thirteen years old then, so we've done well. ;)

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page