Which One?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Rob e Lee, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    Hi Everyone,

    When I am at home I know my Sky Dish points to 19.2E Astra. My question is - say I am in Austria, would I still be looking to pick up this Satellite?

    I keep seeing 28.2E mentioned - could I use this?

    Confused

    Rob
     
  2. oldfozzie

    oldfozzie Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Astra 1, at 19.2E carries mainly continental tv, German, French etc. There are a few Sky channels also.
    Astra 2 at 28.2E carries the UK tv. Freesat,Sky etc, in the main this is tightly focused on UK and is not receivable far from the Islands. Sky is on the PanEuropean beam and is much more widely receivable.
    If you want to see what's where you can go to http://en.kingofsat.net
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    Would you know why my Sky Installed Dish points to 19.2E? It was put up a long time ago mind - I pick up all main Sky Channels and BBC/ITV etc.

    Rob
     
  4. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    I'm confused because plugging a Freesat Reciever into my existing Sky Dish gives me a strong signal on 19.2E but fairly weak on 28.2E. So I have assumed dish is more accurately lined up to 19.2E. Might it be that my Sky Box might not need such a strong signal and is perhaps looking at 28.2E ?

    Still confused,

    Rob
     
  5. oldfozzie

    oldfozzie Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Sorry Rob, your dish is not pointing to 19.2E if your are receiving those channels as they are not broadcast from there.
    It may be that somebody has titled the installation incorrectly. Sky moved to 28.2E back when it first went digital in the 1990s.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    Confusion Ended! I found a way of restoring Freesat Reciever to default settings and guess what? It's now immediately found 28.2E as being the strongest signal.

    I think my son was playing around with settings whilst in France and trying to watch the World Cup. We usually let him and his partner borrow our Motorhome but this was the first time he bothered to play around with our Sat/TV system.

    Many thanks 'Oldfozzie' for your replies.

    Rob
     
Loading...

Share This Page