Which dongle?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by gordoncbrown, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. gordoncbrown

    gordoncbrown Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Scotland
    I was given a pc world voucher as a present. Don't know what I did wrong. Went in there today and was looking at dongles. Ended up walking out as the salesman kept going to the next one up. I tried to explain it was for occasional use only but he ended up trying to sell me a 60quid dongle with a 20 pounds a month contract. I gave up explaining that I have an iPhone so I can tether, but just wanted something on another network that I can use if I don't have a good signal. Something that the credit doesn't disappear after 30days. I had to walk out. I'm sure someone here can point me in the right direction. :Smile:
     
  2. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    You need to find an old Vodaphone non expiring dongle on ebay, no longer available from Vodaphone now and I dont think any body else has non expiring ones now

    Peter
     
  3. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Don't know how much you voucher is but this is what I would go for PCworld MiFi

    Lunarman
     
  4. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,224
    Likes Received:
    9,612
    Location:
    Dorset
    ahh but theres dongles and other dongles. the old ones are slow conections and slow your laptop down because of the way they use usb. the latest ones are faster and not so resource hungry. better bet though is the newer Mifi on a 3 payg sim. top up when needed, or unlock and put in a non expiring sim. many sims get killed off when not used for 60 days, which is a real pain

    you wont get this advice at pcw, they just want to sell what they stock
     
  5. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    Our mobile contract is with Vodafone, we contacted them about getting a dongle for whilst we're away in the van. They sent us one free of charge and it's only costing us £2 per month over and above our original contract. Gives us 500mb of usage per month which is plenty for us.

    Bill
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ROB1CHELSEA1

    ROB1CHELSEA1 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,433
    Likes Received:
    5,643
    Location:
    Park Lane Bedhampton
  7. DonA4000

    DonA4000 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Scotland
    I've been looking into getting Pre Paid Data Sim from Amazon currently at £12.06 for 3gb data lasts 3 months then you throw it in the bin and get another one. No activation just start surfing :Smile: Can be used in any unlocked 3G dongle, 3G phone or device. Anyone else use this?

    :Smile:
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2013
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    speaking from experience Peter, a bad move :Eeek:

    I bought a none expiring sim off eBay a long time ago....bargain at the time, £10 inc postage and with £15 credit pre loaded

    cant remember exactly when but a couple of years at least.

    I am now using it in my HUAWEI MI-FI unit.....and using the original £15 credit from when i bought it.

    the reason i still have 2 year old credit ?
    Vodaphone data signal coverage away from towns and motorways is abysmal to say the least....so it rarely got used due to frustration...taking minutes to change pages and submit posts.

    even now there are places in Scarborough, including our house half the time, i cant get a signal strong enough for data.
    Whitby's west cliff promenade is a dead spot too.
    though regular phone coverage appears OK.

    there is a thread somewhere here recently promoting a sim which costs £15 to buy the sim but doesnt expire as long as you dont exceed the data limit.

    could have been Jaws who posted the thread.



     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    found Jaws thread HERE

    but beware......Huawei MIFI dongles wont accept anything but full sized sim cards....and this company send out 'combi' sims regardless of type needed and even with the adaptor card they wont work.

    the data sim is HERE either data freedom or Gazelle.
    scroll to Ovivo for data
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2013
  10. Stewart J

    Stewart J Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    SW Northumberland
    3G without doubt have the best UK data coverage, buy a Huwai Mifi unit this I'm lead to believe is the latest version mine is the previous

    http://intermodems.com/Unlocked-Huawei-E5332-13dbi-Antenna

    Don't bother with a contract just buy a sim from the following seller

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/261226315288?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

    This will last for 3 months or 3 gb of data whichever comes first, then bin the sim and buy another

    Been doing it myself for almost 2 years now, its a no brainer (for me at least and many others):thumb::thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Yes, thats the latest offering and the one i have....but not the 13db aerial, YET !!!!

    agreed, 3 do have very good coverage and that will be my next SIM
     
  12. Stewart J

    Stewart J Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    SW Northumberland
    Yo Pappajohn

    Have owned both Vodafone and O2 dongles for internet access whilst working mainly up West coast of Scotland and compared to 3G they were rubbish, obviously in some of the highlands coverage is zero whatever network.

    At present I'm on a cl near New Galloway a tiny village out in the Galloway hills, O2 phone coverage is iffy and at best 2-3 bars out of 5, yet I've full 3G coverage.:thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  13. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Just don't try using 3G in the outer Hebrides............it's rubbish :Eek!:
     
  14. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    We're in Skyreburn, 2 miles west of Gatehouse of Fleet, we're with Vodafone and it's the best signal for us, yet we can't get a signal in parts of Gatehouse.
    It's very patchy all around us, but we can't get a 3G signal here:Doh:we would need to travel for quite a bit to pick up the 3G signal, 02 is useless for where we are as well.
    We've only just recovered from a lightning strike knocking the Vodafone mast out for 4 days, as well as the landline being out for over a week.

    Bill
     
  15. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Some are talking about 3G in their posts when I think they mean the "3" network.
    All networks offer 3G but some of then have crap 3G coverage.

    Vodafone is the worst, even in the centre of big towns their signal is rubbish and the internet is soooooo slow.

    I have "3" and Vodafone sims, around the UK I have always got a good 3G signal on "3".
    Vodafone, waste of time.

    I used to have 4 contract phones on Vodafone, now they are all on 3 and I only use my Vodafone sim occasionally in Europe whilst roaming if I have no other options. At least then they are not using the Vodafone U network, so it then works.

    I can tether 4 devices to my iPhone on "3" and I can watch live Sky Sports whilst the boys are online and the wife is streaming movies, all on "3", all from my iPhone......:thumb::thumb:

    :BigGrin:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I know new Galloway pretty well but never actually pulled over there...just passed through.

    Every time we went to the cottage In glentrool village we went that route instead of the A75 all the way.
    Turn off at Crocketford and come back out at Creebridge.
     
  17. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    When we did a wee tour of D&G we always had good signal on "3" including live streaming of Sky Sports with my iPad tethered to my iPhone, no problems.:thumb:

    My Vodafone signal at the same time was pants........ no net, ok for text and calls, but useless for internet.:Doh:


    :BigGrin:
     
  18. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    Vodaphone is the only one for us here at home in Skyreburn, but move around within a few hundred yards and you could lose it. I've given up taking the mobile even into Gatehouse because it's useless:Doh:
    We had a joiner from Gatehouse doing some work recently and he couldn't believe it when he couldn't get any signal on his phone just 2 miles away.
    It really depends on where you are, there are so many dodgy pockets throughout the region. Nokia phones seem to be better for our area, but we've got an HTC and providing the mast is running ok we're fine.

    Even in the original part of our house the walls are so thick we can lose the signal moving from room to room. Best place is outside in the garden to be honest, but can be a real pain in the winter:Sad:

    Bill:BigGrin:
     
  19. carolyn

    carolyn Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Sherborne Dorset
    I have the huawei plus aerial from intermodems, only used it when we were away last weekend so far andalso whilst we changed from aol to BT on tuesday as there was a gap of a few hours and daughter needed it as writing dissertation. Worked fine we could not tell if it was better withe the aerial but the price seemed good so couldnt help myself! Arrived promptly despite them being on hols.
     
  20. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Yes, the SIM card is a full sized one with the option to use a second perforation if you want to use it as a mini card, it's your choice. No adapter required.

    Wyn
     
Loading...

Share This Page