Jun 26, 2009
Spain & Midlands
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
New this year 2009
Hi
As total beginners to this lark, I have been looking on Vicarious Books website as I would like to buy a comprehensive "how to" guide. As there appears to be various options, and keeping in mind weight and storage issues if we take said guide with us, can anyone recommend which books are invaluable?? We are also considering a trip thro France into Spain, maybe Portugal too if we can. Are the Aires books and good maps/ sat nav enough or are others recommended? We have already joined the CCC if that makes any difference!
Thanks for your help

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
This is the best handbook by far and I don't think you'll find it cheaper

Link Removed

As for the English language Aires books they are OK but when a French address is translated into English it exactly the same::bigsmile: French satnav coordinates are the same too:Smile: The official Aires books are not only cheaper they are much more comprehensive, most of the facilities are picture icons so you really don't need an inferior translation.

You can buy the official guides almost everywhere, including Vicarious

Upvote 0

madbluemad

Banned
Jan 26, 2008
spain
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
since 1980
Its not always a book that will give you the answers to the questions you want/need to know.

Its all about getting out and experiencing things first hand, make mistakes and learn from them. The best ways are normally the ways that you have learned through your own experiences.

For travel abroad a map and a campsite guide is fundemental. Research the country that you are travelling to and at least know the law and your fist destination. After that follow your nose.

Read all of the posts on this forum. The info on here comes from experienced people who have been and done it.

Dont worry about it

Happy Days

Jim
:Smile: