Where to mount LR1218 ?

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by kaasbroodje, Sep 21, 2014.

  1. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Bristol
    I'm assuming close to the electroblok but where exactly ?
    I can't see an obvious place for it to go.

    I'm also struggling to work out the best route for cabling from the solar panel.
    I'm currently thinking left of the habitation door, straight down, then into the cabinet towards the electroblok.

    Van is a 2005 A Class Hymer, any advice would be appreciated !
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    If you use the cables supplied with the LR1218 they will dictate that it is placed in the box with the electroblok.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Bristol
    I did wonder if that was the case. Looks like I'll be losing that cubby space then...
     
  4. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,878
    Likes Received:
    2,699
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    I have 2005 B584. My Electroblok is mounted in the same place as yours & there's space above the front wheel arch. I mounted my solar controller (admittedly not the LR1218) in the space under the Electroblok. Panel cabling enters the OS ceiling centre locker, heads down towards the floor following the under locker lights wiring, then forwards to the cab following the existing cable run. If it helps the aluminium trim at the bottom of the entrance doorway covers the wiring run.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    993
    Location:
    Uk
    On my B584 I mounted mine below Electroblok, in the space below cupboard and as high I could so it's not knocked by maps that we keep there. I will take a photo later and post it.
    My cables run through left lockers, that's the side my panel is, and down front edge of windows, under sofa and into Electroblok space but your doors different and I think if you put it in mini trunking ( cheap from Screwfix) your route would be ok.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    993
    Location:
    Uk
    Just took photos of my regulator position, this is under Electoblok.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  7. cliffandger

    cliffandger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    8,555
    Location:
    Saltford
    We did same cable run but put LR1218 in same box as elektrobloc. Have PMd our phone number if you want a chat.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Bristol
    Massive thanks to all of you.

    I know exactly where I'm going with it now.

    Cable entry in wardrobe, down towards boiler, follow heating duct to hab door, under the aluminium trim and on towards the electroblok. As suggested will mount the controller down low.
    Was easy once I'd worked out how to remove the drawers. Will be a much better install now.

    I'm now thinking of fitting a reversing camera at the same time, as cable routes would be identical.
    Only real difference is using a weatherproof box for cable entry instead of the twin cable gland that I've already purchased.
    Has anyone else done similar ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page