Where Can I Find A "live Wire" -- On My Tranny?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by colyboy, May 21, 2015.

  1. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    519
    Would like to connect my new dashcam via a live wire which comes live when the ignition is switch on. My Transit is year 2010. Had a look at the key ignition area and it looks quite difficult. Has any body any suggestions which would be EASY for me to complete.

    colyboy
     
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    with a multimeter connected to any earth point on the van, probe around with the pos lead until you find a switchable connection at the fuse box or even on the ignition switch, then piggyback the connection making sure you uprate the appropriate fuse.
     
  3. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Surrey
    I used the memory live from the back of the stereo unit, then fed the wire up to the headlining by taking the blind off the windscreen. Admittedly mine is a Fiat, but the principal will be the same.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,326
    Likes Received:
    7,582
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    This is how I do it !!!!!

    But Wildmans option would be ok as well.. :rofl:

    image5.jpg
     
  5. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    6,435
    Location:
    south shields
    I think the 12v socket on your dash is an ignition switched source.... mine is a 2008 and is permanent live but fairly sure at 2010 it is ignition switched.. easy check anyway.
    Ta andy
    P's. . The wires at the ignition are all small relay coil circuits I think so best avoid using any of them...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    cigarette lighter wires are usually switched by ignition and in the right area
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    great minds think alike or fools seldom differ?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. GWAYGWAY

    GWAYGWAY Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    Dover
    On my Transit T350 I just plugged it to the feed to the cigar lighter and run a couple of things Dashcam, GPS etc it comes live with the ignition switch . I put it all under the dash and led a USB cable out a small hole to both items, looks quite neat that way. My Fiesta however is live all the time and I must remember to unplug it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page