Where are the other solo motoroamers?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Karen1, Jun 7, 2010.

1. Karen1

Karen1 Read Only Funster

Just to say hi to all fellow campers.

Although I haven't 'motorhomed' - well in my case - 'campervanned' for long, I've got plenty of experience now, having just returned from my second three month trip on the Continent - France/Spain/Gibraltar/Portugal last year; Switzerland/Italy/San Marino/France this year... I heard about this forum when I was staying at Lake Garda a few weeks back.

So far I've driven 14,000 miles in my little van, my 'VERY EARLY retirement present to myself', 18 months ago. It's a Toyota HiAce conversion and is called Trevor.

Always happy to share info. I stay mostly on ACSI sites for the greater security, but also like France Passion and the occasional aire if there are others around or if they're in a quiet little village or similar.

And although I meet lovely people I always hope too that I will occasionally meet others travelling alone - I know you're out there as the campsite people often tell me they've seen you!!!!

I enjoy the freedom of travelling alone but I admit to sometimes getting fed up with locking and unlocking the van and other stuff every time I have to walk away from it.... and a drink or a pizza out is much easier if there's someone else to share the table with - otherwise I end up staring at the locals!!

I've go a few gripes too - including the continental sites with the Chemical loo disposal point in the GENTS toilet - so I can't find it!!!! And why do I nearly always have to pay for another person and a dog... I feel obliged to take two showers a day... although just occasionally someone will suggest that I'd get a better price without ACSI or by using my CCI card to get discount - but it's rare!!