Free Member
May 31, 2013
Gloucestershire
Funster No
MH
Just looking at 5th wheel
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all, newbies here excited about getting on the road with a 5er. Still researching but currently favouring a Calder Kountrylite triple/quad slideout. Question is, what is the best Euro/Jap to tow with? Conventional wisdom says a Navara or Hi-Lux, but the latest offerings from VW (Amarok) and Ford (New Ranger) seem more appealing initially. Are these viable options from a hitch fit and turning point of view? Any idea on likely mpg from each? (auto in both cases and 3.2 V6 diesel in Ranger)
Any thoughts gratefully received
Thanks
Si & Gilly

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
mitsubishi canter or a isuzu nqr or similar . mitzy as 3.9 diesel motor . mine is a seven seater . could be 4x4 isnt shame . but as its a cab over there is no bonnet sticking out makes it shorter and far easier to maneuver in tight places .
its probably smaller in size than alot of conventional pickups .

mikeman

Free Member
Apr 22, 2010
Wiltshire
Funster No
MH
Fifth Wheel kountrylite
Exp
Started in VW Kombi in 1971
If you are going to buy a Kountrylite Alex at Calders will give you the best advice for his living trailers. Also remember that whatever tow vehicle you choose will need to be converted to tow the 5th wheel and Calders do all that too and will certify the work.
I tow my Kountrylite 26RK with a Toyota Hilux.
Mike

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

chatter

Free Member
Aug 3, 2009
cheshire
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
10+
As far as I know you cannot upplate the VW, it came to the market with a very low train weight 5500kg which VW have already uped once and its still only around 5700kg. Alex at Calder will give you the best advice, which i think for the quad or a tripple slide will be a Nav auto with a V6 engine which he will upplate, fit the hitch and do the paperwork.