what to do about the spare keys ? (1 Viewer)

Oct 5, 2012
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Carado T132
Exp
5 years, feel free to ask me about the Carado!!
As a new solo motorhomer I am wondering what other solos do about a spare set of keys ? When my partner was around she had a spare set for car/caravan etc. But now I am solo I am wondering what the best solution to having a spare set is? I am not good with keys, so recently I have mine chained to me most of the time like I have always done with my wallet :ROFLMAO: (and I have'nt lost one for decades...touch wood). But I still think having a spare set of keys is a good idea, I dont want to be stuck anywhere in euroland without any....

Campa:thumb:

Last edited:
Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
Aldi have a line in external key boxes with a combination lock on offer at present. Perhaps something like that mounted in an out of sight position might be useful.

DomingoDeSantaClara

Free Member
Apr 14, 2015
Kent
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
none
As a confirmed " lockmyselfoutofvehicleholic" I've gotten into the habit of always having a spare door key in my wallet,all the other spares can just stay safely in the vehicle.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
Have a spare set of keys very well hidden inside the motorhome, then... Hide just a single door key somewhere on the outside of your vehicle, in a magnet box underneath, hidden inside tail lights fridge vents, taped to the roof. Secure it well as hopefully it will remain in place and un-used for years.

This way you ensure that no matter what happens you can always get in and get to your spares and without the loss ruining your day/holiday etc.

Aug 4, 2013
Oop North
Funster No
MH
None now 😢
Exp