what to do about the spare keys ?

Discussion in 'Solo travellers' started by campa cola, Apr 7, 2013.

1. campa cola

campa cola Funster

As a new solo motorhomer I am wondering what other solos do about a spare set of keys ? When my partner was around she had a spare set for car/caravan etc. But now I am solo I am wondering what the best solution to having a spare set is? I am not good with keys, so recently I have mine chained to me most of the time like I have always done with my wallet :Rofl1: (and I have'nt lost one for decades...touch wood). But I still think having a spare set of keys is a good idea, I dont want to be stuck anywhere in euroland without any....

Campa:thumb:

Last edited: Apr 7, 2013
  2. Reallyretired

Reallyretired Funster

Aldi have a line in external key boxes with a combination lock on offer at present. Perhaps something like that mounted in an out of sight position might be useful.

3. DomingoDeSantaClara

DomingoDeSantaClara

As a confirmed " lockmyselfoutofvehicleholic" I've gotten into the habit of always having a spare door key in my wallet,all the other spares can just stay safely in the vehicle.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Peter & Elaine

Peter & Elaine Funster

I have a spare hab door key hidden external and.a.spare set of ignition keys hidden inside
    And yes I did lock myself out

• Like Like x 2
  5. Jim

Jim Ringleader

Have a spare set of keys very well hidden inside the motorhome, then... Hide just a single door key somewhere on the outside of your vehicle, in a magnet box underneath, hidden inside tail lights fridge vents, taped to the roof. Secure it well as hopefully it will remain in place and un-used for years.

This way you ensure that no matter what happens you can always get in and get to your spares and without the loss ruining your day/holiday etc.

• Like Like x 7
  6. old-mo

old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

(y)

7. Granjan

Granjan Funster