Free Member
Nov 4, 2012
oxon
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
im a newbie
Hi all, me and the wife are planning to rent a motorhome for our first time to tour Scotland next year for a couple of weeks.

The plan roughly is to the Cairngorms, head over to Skye then Applecross (not sure about going the pass of the cattle route mind you) and keep upo going the west coast.
So with all that in mind and never driven a motorhome before what size do you think I ought to consider 6m, 6.5m or 7m long?
In real terms is there a lot of difference on the tight Scotish roads in driving a 6m or 7m van?

Many Thanks

ukbill

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 3, 2011
Pinoso
Funster No
MH
4 berth low profile
Exp
starting on saturday 10/3/2012
never been to scotland so as far as the roads go i cant help there but as for size i would always go for a 4 berth low profile and possibly a fixed bed giving 2 people plenty of room have a good trip

Upvote 0

mid4did

Free Member
Sep 29, 2012
N.somerset
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp R 655 GT
Exp
started in a minivan 1970's when I could fit into it.
I,m sure you,re going to get all the advice going pretty soon.
I did a tour of scotland in or around 1973.Bedford CA van conversion.windows and 2 seater bed settee in the back 2 burner stove .Wild camped wherever and had a great time.The roads then were single track with passing places which we were using,most others doing the same thing were in the veedubs etc.I would say as its your first time ,keep it small and managable.Watch out for the "wee beasties"::bigsmile:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Spacerunner

Free Member
Apr 7, 2008
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I spent six weeks in your intended area with a 7 metre moho. No serious problems just remember that you're a tourist and to give way to almost every other vehicle on the road as they will usually be working.