What size fuse for inverter

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by chaser, Apr 21, 2016.

  1. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I have now fixed a 500w inverter in the van , just for light duties and a slow cooker, most it will be probably 200w, , I have put a normal spade fuse inline on the positive line next to the battery, and put a 20 amp in it that didn't blow so now I have a 15 amp in it and it seems to be working fine, now I have seen things on the net that says you need anything up to a 100 amp , why? If my 15 amp isnt blowing with the cooker plugged in , is that ok.
    Thanks
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    what size is the cable.. ?

    that is what determines the fuse or CB size.. it is sized to protect the cable..

    If you don't know the cable size , was it supplied with the invertor ?

    If so I wouldn't worry.. at full load the invertor would draw 40 A ..
    so you will be safe using the 15A fuse.. that is equal to a load of 180 watt

    The 200watt cooker will draw 16.7 amps so it may eventually blow the 15A fuse.. in which case use the 20A Fuse

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,223
    Likes Received:
    5,024
    Location:
    West Sussex
    You never know what you are going to plug into it in the future so providing your cable is suitably rarted I would fit a 50 amp fuse, I have a 100 amp fuse in line with my 1000 watt inverter.
     
  4. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Thanks for that , I am useing 6mm cable , wasn't thinking of melting the cable , more if the inverter crashed or the cable got cut or some other calamity, it came with cable for a fag lighter but I am useing maybe three times that, so I was right first time then,
    Makes a change(y):)
     
  5. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I would rather have one that will blow quick, that's why I went for as little as possible (y):)
     
  6. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    A 100 amp fuse is way over the top.
    That will take some load to blow.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Correct size fuse is 30A
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Not making any comment about the good advice you have been given regarding fuses, but I think I might be concerned about a 500w inverter that was supplied with a 'fag lighter' plug. Most such sockets are rated at 10 or 12 amps and your inverter can draw over 40 amps. Not great!
     
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I know that that's why I havnt used them(y)
     
  10. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
  11. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    These should not be sold with a power point plug.
    If advertised as max output they can NOT get it from a cig, power point
     
  12. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,223
    Likes Received:
    5,024
    Location:
    West Sussex
    The only mention of a 100 amp was me referring to my 1000 watt inverter.
     
  13. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Can't argue mate, but put , inverters, in ebay, everything up to 3000w come with cig plugs, why?
     
  14. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    2,482
    Location:
    Surrey
  15. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Is that dear then, thought they were reasonable(y)
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
Loading...

Share This Page