What it is like to be a programmer.... (1 Viewer)

Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
I have been very fortunate to be able to get back into programming fulltime professionally after 20 years of only doing it part time and in a small way. In those 20 years I had forgotten about the frustrations of programming where it interfaces with the real world/humans.

I tripped over this video whilst refreshing my memory on cryptography and hashing (don't ask). I thought this might be entertaining and enlightening for quite a few of you.
Don't worry it doesn't get at all technical...

Oct 1, 2013
Lanzarote
Funster No
MH
Nil by mouth
Exp
Lots
I was a programmer 15 years, then I realised that a DBA had much easier life. I cruised last 15 years till I retired :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Gromett
Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
I was a programmer 15 years, then I realised that a DBA had much easier life. I cruised last 15 years till I retired :)

I did DBA part time, it is the worst part of the job. Trying to fight with developers who don't know how to optimise SQL statements or explaining why they shouldn't do joins on non indexed columns. They always expect me to perform miracles with the hardware they were too cheap to invest in to start with.....

Fortunately @Jim listens to me so we have a nice fast db backing up this site and it never hiccups (touch wood).

In order of preference, I would rather be a programmer than a DBA, I would rather be a DBA than a sysadmin. However my long experience of being a sysadmin means that is where I can get work the easiest. Getting back into the development work is something I have wanted to do for years and I am loving it even with the minor frustrations :)

Oct 1, 2013
Lanzarote
Funster No
MH
Nil by mouth
Exp
Lots
I was senior DBA for Parcelforce, Travelex and McAfee.

Was a piece of piss. I designed the DBs and told the programmers what to do.